Candle of Invocation + Glove of Storing +Strands of Prayer Beads + Wand of Rarly's Mn

Shin Okada

Explorer
OK, now my cleric is trying to do this.

Step 1. Use a Wand of Rarly's Mnemonic Enhancer several times. Now gets a lot of additional 3rd or lower spell slots.
Step 2. Put a Candle of Invocation in a lantern and put it light.
Step 3. Spend 30 minutes for preparing spells for that day, as if he were a 2 level higher. (Now the candle burns for 30 minutes)
Step 4. Use Strands of Prayer Beads and casts daily spells such as Magic Vestment or Spikes, at +6 caster levels in total. (Now the candle burns for several rounds)
Step 5. Store the lantern (thus the candle) into the Glove of Storing.
Step 6. Take back the lantern and candle whenever I must cast a spell at +2 level, then store it again (Again the candle burns for several rounds a day in total)
Step 7. Take back the lantern and unlit the candle just before the preparation time of the next day. Then come back to step 1.

This way, the candle lasts for about 4 days (or 3 days if the DM demands exactly 30 minutes per preparation). Is this cycle possible?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

First off, a nitpick. Mnemonic enhancer is not on the cleric spell list, so to activate that wand you'll need either a wizard level or some ranks in Use Magic Device.

Second, the candle's description doesn't say whether its effects can be resumed if it is extinguished and relit. IMC I've ruled that all magic candles are inherently single-use items, and if the flame goes out while there's still wax left, you now have a nonmagical candle. This might be considered a house rule; YMMV.

Finally, a glove of storing is not supposed to be a way to let you extend magic beyond its normal duration. Spell durations continue running while in the glove, for instance. I'd probably rule that suspending the flame's action has the same effect as snuffing it-- so if you stored the candle while it was lit, it'd be a nonmagical candle when you retrieved it. (If I were in a generous mood, I'd let the magic stick around, but the four-hour duration would continue counting down despite the gloves.)
 

I've highlighted the important part.... :)

SRD said:
Glove of Storing: This device is a simple leather glove. On command, one item held in the hand wearing the glove disappears. The item can weigh no more than 20 pounds and must be able to be held in one hand. While stored, the item has negligible weight. With a snap of the fingers wearing the glove, the item reappears. A glove can only store one item at a time. Storing or retrieving the item is a free action. The item is held in stasis and shrunk down so small within the palm of the glove that it cannot be seen. Spell durations are not suppressed, but continue to expire. If an effect is suppressed or dispelled, the stored item appears instantly.

Faint transmutation; CL 6th; Craft Wondrous Item, shrink item; Price 10,000 gp (one glove).

So, no, this wouldn't work. Sorry.
 

Along with the other problems people have mentioned, I believe putting the candle in the extradimentional space created by the glove would snuff out the candle, since there's no air in there.

Whether or not this could be used to turn of the candle, leaving the possiblility of relighting it later is an issue beyond what I want to go into at the moment (frigging exams).
 

Regarding the use of Wand of Lary's Mnemonic Enhancer, there is no problem as my cleric has Magic Domain.

So the issue is, what will happen if a lit Candle of Invocation is stored into a Glove of Storing.

First, the description of the Glove in DMG says,

"... because the item is stored in stasis --- even lit torches."

So, actually, this item is specifically suggesting to put a lit torch in there.

And, the effect of the Candle of Invocation is not spells, so the text Patryn has suggested does not say anything about the duration or status of non-spell effects.
 
Last edited:

The Candle has four hours of burn time.

The text of it's description seems to imply (to me anyway) that the duration does not need to be used all at once.

Also, characters can only benefit from the Candle if it is lit and within range.

As the text of the Glove indicates that spell durations are not suspended, I would rule that the candle continues burning while shrunk and that it still provides its benefit within 30'.

In either case, when the candle was inactive (either because it has been put out or because its duration has somehow been suspended), all the extra spells gained by burning it during preparation would vanish.

Also, note that while it increases your caster level by 2 for purposes of preparing spells, it does nothing for your caster level for purposes of casting spells. So even if you rule that using the Gloves suspends the duration the worst of the abuse is removed.

Edit2: Oh, and preparing spells takes 1hr, not 1/2 hr.
 
Last edited:

Oh I see. No caster level increase.

So the best way to use it will be to use it 1 hour (+casting time of spells) per day and cast all the gained spell slots for 1-day buff and such.
 

Pyrex said:
The Candle has four hours of burn time.

The text of it's description seems to imply (to me anyway) that the duration does not need to be used all at once.

Also, characters can only benefit from the Candle if it is lit and within range.

As the text of the Glove indicates that spell durations are not suspended, I would rule that the candle continues burning while shrunk and that it still provides its benefit within 30'.
Except the candle doesn't continue burning, because the glove specifically prohibits that.

IF the candle had a clause that said "the power works for 4 hours, or as long as the candle continues to burn" THEN you might have a case, but as is, the power goes while the candle is burning, and the candle ceases burning while in the glove.
Also, note that while it increases your caster level by 2 for purposes of preparing spells, it does nothing for your caster level for purposes of casting spells. So even if you rule that using the Gloves suspends the duration the worst of the abuse is removed.
No, it increases your level by 2 for purposes of preparing spells, AND it allows you to cast said spells as long as the candle burns.

Which opens the gate to my nerf, which says "when the candle goes into the glove, it has ceased to burn, and you lose the ability to cast said spells - the ability does not return if the candle continues to burn".
 

Remove ads

Top