caster level a prereq?


log in or register to remove this ad


Is the listed caster level for magic items a prerequisite for creation?
According to the errata, no.

One of the the exceptions is Enhancement bonuses to armor/weapon: you must be at least 3 x the level of bonus.
This is only the hit/damage/AC enhancement bonuses: Flaming ability, etc don't require this.
 

According to the errata, no.

One of the the exceptions is Enhancement bonuses to armor/weapon: you must be at least 3 x the level of bonus.
This is only the hit/damage/AC enhancement bonuses: Flaming ability, etc don't require this.

Really? Cause that'd be awesome. Too many times, my item crafters got stymied because a cheap magic item with a low level spell requirement had something ridiculous like CL 12 for no apparent reason.
 

Really? Cause that'd be awesome. Too many times, my item crafters got stymied because a cheap magic item with a low level spell requirement had something ridiculous like CL 12 for no apparent reason.
Here is the errrata from DMG:
Caster Level​
Dungeon Master’s Guide,​
page 215

Problem:​
The last two sentences in the section on Caster
Level are ambiguous and potentially misleading.

Solution:​
Replace with this text: For other magic items, the
caster level is determined by the creator. The minimum caster

level is that which is needed to meet the prerequisites given.


But be warned if you give something a lower caster than listed in the DMG: it will be easier to dispel.

That may be why many low level spells have high listed caster levels. They don't want to be dispelled too easily.


 


Dispelled for 1d4 rounds. Moderately annoying, but not usually a catastrophe...
Depends on what is dispelled:
They dispel your Cloak of Resistance: saves drop by up to 5.

Dispel your Sword: you lose much damage/hit factors.
Dispel armor: so much easier to hit.
Dispel Con item: you lose hps till it functions.
Dispel Mental item: lose Casting bonus to DC (including bonus spells) till returns.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top