Hypersmurf said:3.5 Main FAQ, p10.
If you do not succeed in activating a scroll spell, the spell is
not used up. If you suffer a mishap when you fail to cast the
spell, however, you activate the scroll after a fashion and the
scroll is wasted.
-Hyp.
Hrm, interesting. Thanks for the rules update. *ponders* Well, I guess that means as long as you have a couple of points in Wis, or you borrow the Cleric/Monk's Wis boosting item when overcasting, you could almost get away with taking 20 on that pesky caster level check, since at most you'd be having a 15% mishap rate, and more than likely closer to a 5% mishap rate... Darn. Now I want to play my wizard again and get my hands on a few meteor swarm scrolls...
