Casting Higher Level Scrolls

The_Gunslinger658

First Post
Hi-

I'm a bit confused, I'm reading the 3.5 DMG on the mechanics of casting scrolls and I want to be sure I have this rule right. Ok, A character of say a 10th level wizard finds a scroll created by a 16th level wizard, (note: the spell is not in the 10th level wizards spell book) To cast this spell he would need to roll a d20 (DC=scroll casters level +1), DC 17 or better to cast the spell right? Any penalties for not having said spell in his spell book?

Thanks for the help guys


Scott
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It's a caster level check to succeed, so you roll d20 and add 10 for a 10th level wizard. The DC is 17, correct. No penalties for being in a spellbook or not.
 


Note that the caster level check is only necessary if the spell is of a higher level than what the scroll user is able to cast. For a 10th level caster, that would be a spell of 6th level or higher. For a 5th level or lower spell, activation of the scroll automatically succeeds if the spell appears on the caster's class list (not withstanding disruption from an outside source).
 

Dracomeander said:
Note that the caster level check is only necessary if the spell is of a higher level than what the scroll user is able to cast. For a 10th level caster, that would be a spell of 6th level or higher. For a 5th level or lower spell, activation of the scroll automatically succeeds if the spell appears on the caster's class list (not withstanding disruption from an outside source).

Actually, if I'm not mistaken, the Caster Level is a limit as well. For example, I'm pretty sure a 1st-level Wizard trying to use a scroll of Magic Missile at 9th level would still have to make a Caster Level Check.
 

UG is correct.

SRD said:
If the user meets all the requirements noted above, and her caster level is at least equal to the spell’s caster level, she can automatically activate the spell without a check. If she meets all three requirements but her own caster level is lower than the scroll spell’s caster level, then she has to make a caster level check (DC = scroll’s caster level + 1) to cast the spell successfully. If she fails, she must make a DC 5 Wisdom check to avoid a mishap (see Scroll Mishaps, below). A natural roll of 1 always fails, whatever the modifiers.
 

UltimaGabe said:
Actually, if I'm not mistaken, the Caster Level is a limit as well. For example, I'm pretty sure a 1st-level Wizard trying to use a scroll of Magic Missile at 9th level would still have to make a Caster Level Check.

Wow, I hadn't realized this. :eek:
 

Remove ads

Top