Casting spells right out of your spellbook

Li Shenron said:
...what kind of SRD are you looking at? :)
Just so spatula doesn't think they're going mad, my copy of the SRD matches theirs. Cost to buy a scroll is listed in the MagicItemI document as 12.5 x Spell Level x Caster Level in the Summary of Magic Item Creation Costs table.
The text further down the document correctly lists the cost to create a scroll as 25 x Spell Level x Caster Level.

Dan
 

log in or register to remove this ad


WCrawford said:
Actually it was an optional rule from the Complete Book of Wizards (2nd Edition). The spell in the spellbook would be read as a scroll and then be removed from the book. There was also a fairly likely posibility that the spell preceding or following the spell used would be 'consumed' in the process, and even a chance that bothe the spell before and after would be gone.
Which only makes it worse, and still just as abuseable.
 
Last edited:

I see the table, and I think that the problem is that they double-dipped on the 1/2 for scrolls, wands and potions. First they halved the values themselves (to 25 for potions, 12.5 for scrolls, and 375 for wands), and then they added the 1/2 again. The items that don't use formulas only have the 1/2 once (e.g. "1/2 the value on Table: Armor and Shields").
 

I'd allow it.

However, it has a one hour casting time, and you need to have a spell slot open for you to cast it. However, the page is not destroyed while doing it.

In short, I allow wizards to leave slots open to prepare spells later in the day if they wish, provided they have an hour of uninterrupted study.
 

Count Arioch the 28t said:
In short, I allow wizards to leave slots open to prepare spells later in the day if they wish, provided they have an hour of uninterrupted study.

Actually, according to the SRD, that's not a house rule but part of core!

SRD said:
When preparing spells for the day, a wizard can leave some of these spell slots open. Later during that day, she can repeat the preparation process as often as she likes, time and circumstances permitting. During these extra sessions of preparation, the wizard can fill these unused spell slots. She cannot, however, abandon a previously prepared spell to replace it with another one or fill a slot that is empty because she has cast a spell in the meantime. That sort of preparation requires a mind fresh from rest. Like the first session of the day, this preparation takes at least 15 minutes, and it takes longer if the wizard prepares more than one-quarter of her spells.

On p178 of the PHB as well.
 

dbm said:
Just so spatula doesn't think they're going mad, my copy of the SRD matches theirs. Cost to buy a scroll is listed in the MagicItemI document as 12.5 x Spell Level x Caster Level in the Summary of Magic Item Creation Costs table.
The text further down the document correctly lists the cost to create a scroll as 25 x Spell Level x Caster Level.

Dan

Aha! Now I found the table, it's in the "creating magic items" section of Sovelior's SRD. And yes it's WRONG :cool: They clearly halved the price twice for scrolls and potions, everywhere else it is listed correctly.
 

Remove ads

Top