Casting then dying

Oryan77

Adventurer
I couldn't find this answer in the PHB or DMG....

If a caster casts a spell that lasts several rounds, does the spell end once the caster is dead?

Mainly I'm asking about Spiritual Weapon, but I'm curious about area of effect or mind spells.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I think it does end. I'm positive thing's that go several rounds but require concentration end when you die, but I'm not entirely sure about that either...hhmmm...Just going by personal thought, it probably SHOULD end, since you brought it into being and your end should justly be its too...dont know for sure though. BTW Oryan, you have 669 posts...niiiiice.
 

Most spells? No. There's no note in the PHB (or anywhere else, really) that the death of the mage ends the spell. A dead spellcaster can't act, so can't concentrate, and thus any spell that requires concentration (such as Major Image or Detect magic) end.

That said, however, there are a few spells (Spiritual Weapon is one) where the spell specifies that if it goes out of range of the caster, it returns to the caster. Well, in my campaign, when you're dead, you are elsewhere. The Spiritual Weapon returns to you.... on your afterlife plane. It's not ended per se, but it might as well be.
 

Yeah, spiritual weapon is one of the few spells that killing the caster works for. Kill someone who has charmed your barbarian, and you have just slain Grunks best friend in the whole world...

Here is the rulestext of the spell, important points bolded http://www.d20srd.org/
Spiritual Weapon
Evocation [Force]
Level: Clr 2, War 2
Components: V, S, DF
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Effect: Magic weapon of force
Duration: 1 round/level (D)
Saving Throw: None
Spell Resistance: Yes

A weapon made of pure force springs into existence and attacks opponents at a distance, as you direct it, dealing 1d8 force damage per hit, +1 point per three caster levels (maximum +5 at 15th level). The weapon takes the shape of a weapon favored by your deity or a weapon with some spiritual significance or symbolism to you (see below) and has the same threat range and critical multipliers as a real weapon of its form. It strikes the opponent you designate, starting with one attack in the round the spell is cast and continuing each round thereafter on your turn. It uses your base attack bonus (possibly allowing it multiple attacks per round in subsequent rounds) plus your Wisdom modifier as its attack bonus. It strikes as a spell, not as a weapon, so, for example, it can damage creatures that have damage reduction. As a force effect, it can strike incorporeal creatures without the normal miss chance associated with incorporeality. The weapon always strikes from your direction. It does not get a flanking bonus or help a combatant get one. Your feats or combat actions do not affect the weapon.
If the weapon goes beyond the spell range, if it goes out of your sight, or if you are not directing it, the weapon returns to you and hovers.

Each round after the first, you can use a move action to redirect the weapon to a new target. If you do not, the weapon continues to attack the previous round’s target. On any round that the weapon switches targets, it gets one attack. Subsequent rounds of attacking that target allow the weapon to make multiple attacks if your base attack bonus would allow it to. Even if the spiritual weapon is a ranged weapon, use the spell’s range, not the weapon’s normal range increment, and switching targets still is a move action.


A spiritual weapon cannot be attacked or harmed by physical attacks, but dispel magic, disintegrate, a sphere of annihilation, or a rod of cancellation affects it. A spiritual weapon’s AC against touch attacks is 12 (10 + size bonus for Tiny object).

If an attacked creature has spell resistance, you make a caster level check (1d20 + caster level) against that spell resistance the first time the spiritual weapon strikes it. If the weapon is successfully resisted, the spell is dispelled. If not, the weapon has its normal full effect on that creature for the duration of the spell.

The weapon that you get is often a force replica of your deity’s own personal weapon. A cleric without a deity gets a weapon based on his alignment. A neutral cleric without a deity can create a spiritual weapon of any alignment, provided he is acting at least generally in accord with that alignment at the time. The weapons associated with each alignment are as follows.

Chaos
Battleaxe

Evil
Flail

Good
Warhammer

Law
Longsword
 

Oryan77 said:
I couldn't find this answer in the PHB or DMG....

If a caster casts a spell that lasts several rounds, does the spell end once the caster is dead?

Mainly I'm asking about Spiritual Weapon, but I'm curious about area of effect or mind spells.
For area spells, like fog cloud, the effect continues until the duration expires. Even spells that are dismissable (D) continue since dismissing the spell is a standard action.

Spiritual weapon is as mentioned, you stop directing it/out of sight, so it returns and hovers at the very least.

Spells that affect objects like invisibility would also continue, so you might be invisible or

The spells I'm not sure about are spells like Enlarge Person, Bull's Strenght, Baleful polymorph, dominate person. These spells require a target creature. An unanimated corpse is an objcect not a creature, and not a valid target. I've been told they end, but don't have any reference to support that decision.
 

TheGogmagog said:
The spells I'm not sure about are spells like Enlarge Person, Bull's Strenght, Baleful polymorph, dominate person. These spells require a target creature. An unanimated corpse is an objcect not a creature, and not a valid target. I've been told they end, but don't have any reference to support that decision.

A spell only cares about target validity at casting time.

If I cast Hold Person on an orc (humanoid - valid target), and then he turns into an ogre somehow (giant - invalid target), he's still affected by the Hold Person. He was a valid target, therefore the spell took effect; when he changes type, the spell is already in effect.

For what it's worth, the 3.5 Main FAQ says the same thing.

So if I cast Bull's Strength on you, kill you, and then raise you before the spell ends, you've still got a Bull's Strength going.

Note that there is some evidence for this in the Raise Dead description:
Normal poison and normal disease are cured in the process of raising the subject, but magical diseases and curses are not undone.

Bestow Curse targets "Creature touched", so if dying and becoming not-a-creature ended such spells, noting that Raising someone does not undo curses would be rather redunant.

-Hyp.
 

Is this really true? IE, can I cast a spell that only targets humanoids on myself and which increases my size by one category, then polymorph into a giant, and end up as an Enlarged giant?

Ken
 

Haffrung Helleyes said:
Is this really true?
It's the FAQ ruling, and it solves the Shilleag (sp?) issue. It isn't, however, spelled out in the rules themselves as far as I'm aware.
Haffrung Helleyes said:
IE, can I cast a spell that only targets humanoids on myself and which increases my size by one category, then polymorph into a giant, and end up as an Enlarged giant?

Ken
Even given the "at casting" interpertation, That depends on whether or not your DM decides Polymorph is a magical effect that increases your size (in which case, they don't stack), or just changes your shape (in which case, they do).


Hmm... the spell in a spell Glyph of Warding is cast when putting together the ward; does this mean that if the dragon is masquerading as a human via Polymorph when you cast the ward, and he later triggers it in Dragon form, that the Hold Person stored in the Glyph affects him (barring, you know, a Dragon's saves and SR interfereing)?
 

Haffrung Helleyes said:
Is this really true? IE, can I cast a spell that only targets humanoids on myself and which increases my size by one category, then polymorph into a giant, and end up as an Enlarged giant?

Yes, and possibly no.

The problem with that specific example is the rule that "Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack".

So yes, you'll end up as an Enlarged giant, but the Enlarge may not increase your size category. It depends whether your DM considers polymorphing into a giant to be a "magical effect that increases size", or a "magical effect that turns you into a Large (or Huge) creature of unincreased size".

See, an Ogre is a Large creature. So if you turn into an Ogre-who-is-Large, are you under a magical effect that increases size (since you were Medium and now you're Large), or not (since you're a Large Ogre, and an Ogre with a magical effect that increases size would be bigger than Large)?

The more common example, pre-Wildshape errata, was a druid who wildshaped into a Large animal, then cast Animal Growth on himself. Is he a normal-sized Large animal who grows, or a Medium humanoid increased in size to a Large animal, who doesn't grow?

Different people rule this one different ways.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top