Charging - No attack of opportunity from defender?

dreaded_beast

First Post
One of my players thinks that charging does not provoke an attack of opportunity. He cites the table in the PHB that lists actions that provoke attacks of opportunity.

So, do you think you can charge someone and not suffer attacks of opportunity as you pass through threatened squares?

It didn't say anything in the charge description, so I'm unsure.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The charge does not provoke, but the movment may.

Normally, the person you are charging won't get an AoO unless they have reach (since you charge into one of their threatened squares but then stop moving before you leave it).
 

Indeed, charging, in and of itself, does not provoke an attack of opportunity, which is to say, attacking recklessly does not provoke an attack of opportunity. As Ki Ryn says, it's the movement of the charger that may provoke AoO's.

AR
 

Ki Ryn said:
The charge does not provoke, but the movment may.

Normally, the person you are charging won't get an AoO unless they have reach (since you charge into one of their threatened squares but then stop moving before you leave it).

That's it in a nutshell, although there is a feat in Complete Warrior called Hold the Line at allows you an AoO against those who charge you. I think it may have originally been in Sword and Fist.
 


Azul said:
That's it in a nutshell, although there is a feat in Complete Warrior called Hold the Line at allows you an AoO against those who charge you. I think it may have originally been in Sword and Fist.

Hold the Line allows you an AoO against any opponent charging anyone else and is entering squares that you threaten - which can get nasty with a reach weapon and a close defensive formation as even those opponents that charge your buddies besides you get AoOs from you (after all Combat Reflexes is the prequisite feat )
"You may make an Attack of Opportunity against a charging opponent who enters an area you threaten. Your Attack of Opportunity happens immediately before the charge attack is resolved." (CW, page 100 )
It's an original Complete Warrior Feat, and thus technically available only in 3.5

And as for the initial question, Hypersmurf is absolutely correct in his quote (both on contents and table/footnote quoted ) - whatever the action, if you leave a threatened square, you usually provoke an attack of opportunity. Those actions that are exceptions have the specific conditions explicitly listed - such as 5' adjustment and the "withdrawal" action.

Actually I have no idea what sort of weed the player claiming "no AoOs when charging" is smoking, because the charge action never protected/s you from AoOs in the first place, it just lists that the charge action in and of itself does not provoke AoOs - and as one usually does not leave threatened squares while performing it, no AoOs are suffered. Once you do that, normal AoO rules for movement into, through and out of threatened squares apply.
 

Actually, it's in Sword and Fist as well, thus available in 3.0. The S&F version, though, only mentions "An opponent who charges you", it doesn't say anything about your buddies.
 

dreaded_beast said:
One of my players thinks that charging does not provoke an attack of opportunity..
Your question is a bit unclear, especially given the header of your post.

Are you asking: "When charging an opponent, does that opponent get an AoO?"

or are you asking: "If I charge, do I become immune to AoOs from everyone and anyone, regardless of where I go or what else I do?"

The answer to both is "No".
 

Remove ads

Top