Circlet of Arcane Extension

Shin Okada

Explorer
This item's power says,

Power (Daily): Minor Action. Until the end of your turn, the range of your ranged arcane powers increases by 5 squares.

What will happen if the power is an arcane ranged weapon power? Say, an artificer uses this power and then uses Magic Weapon with a repeating crossbow (range 10/20). Now how long is the range of this Magic Weapon? 15/25? 10/25? or any other?
 

log in or register to remove this ad



the "Melee or Ranged weapon" is the range keyword (the same way that a ranged attack says "Ranged 10" or "Ranged weapon", or "Melee touch"
Does this then mean that the artificer with a melee weapon who hits an enemy with Magic Weapon can do so at range?

My thinking is that it only enhances powers that non weapon powers that have range. Implement powers if you will.
 

Does this then mean that the artificer with a melee weapon who hits an enemy with Magic Weapon can do so at range?

My thinking is that it only enhances powers that non weapon powers that have range. Implement powers if you will.

It's a power that's either melee OR ranged, not melee AND ranged, so it depends on the weapon and how it's being used (ie, are you throwing that dagger or just stabbing with it?)

The thing about the item is that it says "ranged arcane powers" not "ranged arcane implement powers", so I suppose it would increase the range of ranged weapon powers as well.

The "melee or" modifier on Magic Weapon in particular is irrelevant to the discussion.

Let's forget Magic Weapon for the second and consider Halo of Thorns, another artrificer level 1 power;

Halo of Thorns Artificer Attack 1
Encounter Arcane, Poison, Weapon
Standard Action Ranged weapon

Is there any reason why increasing the range of a "ranged arcane power" would not work on Halo of Thorns?
 

It's a power that's either melee OR ranged, not melee AND ranged, so it depends on the weapon and how it's being used (ie, are you throwing that dagger or just stabbing with it?)

The thing about the item is that it says "ranged arcane powers" not "ranged arcane implement powers", so I suppose it would increase the range of ranged weapon powers as well.

The "melee or" modifier on Magic Weapon in particular is irrelevant to the discussion.

Let's forget Magic Weapon for the second and consider Halo of Thorns, another artrificer level 1 power;

Halo of Thorns Artificer Attack 1
Encounter Arcane, Poison, Weapon
Standard Action Ranged weapon

Is there any reason why increasing the range of a "ranged arcane power" would not work on Halo of Thorns?
Yes because it is ranged weapon not ranged x
Consider Lightning bolt "Standard action Ranged 10"
4e is driven by keywords and they have precise and narrow meaning. Now you are free to include ranged weapon under the affected powers in 'Circletof Arcane Extension' but that is not correct in the context of the rules as written. At least in my opinion, you could go to WoTC customer service and get their answer which probably has more weight than mine but i have given mine.
 

Yes because it is ranged weapon not ranged x
Consider Lightning bolt "Standard action Ranged 10"
4e is driven by keywords and they have precise and narrow meaning. Now you are free to include ranged weapon under the affected powers in 'Circletof Arcane Extension' but that is not correct in the context of the rules as written. At least in my opinion, you could go to WoTC customer service and get their answer which probably has more weight than mine but i have given mine.

Yes, "ranged" has a narrow meaning, however this meaning is shared between ranged weapon and ranged implement powers.

"10", "weapon", even "sight" (which I dont know is actually ever used, but cited in the rules in PHB1) are all examples of ranges for Ranged Attack powers.

There are four range types of attacks:
Close (blast or burst)
Area (blast or burst)
Ranged (various)
Melee (various)

All four of these words have specific meaning in the rules, for instance, an Area or Ranged attack provokes oportunity attacks.

If the power has a range value (ie, 10 or weapon), then it is a ranged attack. If it has a melee value (weapon, touch, 2) it is a melee attack.

Also: If you can't include Ranged Weapon attacks with the Circlet you can't include Ranged 10 attacks either, for exactly the same reasons you suggest, since it doesnt just say "Ranged"
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top