Cleave with a touch spell?


log in or register to remove this ad


Not unless you threaten w/o the spell. Once the touch spell is delivered it is discharged, thus you are unarmed.

Now, a monk/cleric...As long as the traget is within 5'...
 

Few spells deal enough damage and allow for multiple touches for this to be viable.

Cleaving also only works off damage. if the spell outright kills the victim like with a death effect, cleave will not activate.
 

No.

Even though the feat does not specify that the initial attack must be made with a melee weapon, the text does state that the Cleave attack is an "immediate, extra melee attack" that is "with the same weapon." A spell is not a weapon.

Besides, what spellcaster takes Power Attack and Cleave? :p

SRD said:
If you deal a creature enough damage to make it drop (typically by dropping it to below 0 hit points or killing it), you get an immediate, extra melee attack against another creature within reach. You cannot take a 5-foot step before making this extra attack. The extra attack is with the same weapon and at the same bonus as the attack that dropped the previous creature. You can use this ability once per round.
 


Plus i think the rules state somewhere one is considered "armed" when weilding a touch spell.

Anyways, core wise few spells would work.

Chill touch
Flame blade

Rusting grasp
does not work with this since "The spell lasts for 1 round per level, and you can make one melee touch attack per round. "
 

frankthedm said:
Few spells deal enough damage and allow for multiple touches for this to be viable.

Cleaving also only works off damage. if the spell outright kills the victim like with a death effect, cleave will not activate.

The SRD quote that Barendd Nobeard uses states "typically by dropping it to below 0 hit points or killing it"

So a death effect that kills the victim should work shouldn't it (provided that you still had a charge of course)? A vorpral weapon critical would be another example.

I think (admitedly I could be wrong) in that a spell-charged hand is considered a weapon (no AoO's from using it, Weapon Focus Touch spell/Ray spell feat).
 

Dross said:
The SRD quote that Barendd Nobeard uses states "typically by dropping it to below 0 hit points or killing it"

Right.

So a death effect that kills the victim should work shouldn't it?

No. Because while you're making it drop, you're not dealing it enough damage to make it drop; you're bypassing the damage-dealing requirement entirely.

-Hyp.
 

Barendd Nobeard said:
Besides, what spellcaster takes Power Attack and Cleave? :p
A fighter-spellcaster base class, prestige class or multiclass, like the duskblade, eldritch knight, bladesinger, spellsword, enlightened fist... :)
 

Remove ads

Top