Combining magic properties


log in or register to remove this ad

Is there a formula for combining magical properties on a single weapon/rod/armour/etc. ? Like a rod of reaving and corruption for example?

No, and from the person on the WotC boards posting about the new Adventurer's Vault book, it's not there either.

I think this is generally a good thing, because 1) it means magic item slots are actually a valuable resource and 2) it keeps every sword from turning into a ridiculous magical swiss army knife.

If you really want to have a magic item with two related powers, design it like that and then figure out what price level it belongs at.
 

Well I think you're probally right that it's a good thing. If there was a rule, I'm sure I'd use it and have something too powerful. Like a rod of reaving and corruption. It's a good thing they had the foresight to keep players like me in line
 

Indeed, no such formula. Instructions are given on what level and enhancement bonus to give for a single effect, and players are able to only enchant an item with a single effect (since once you're enchanted it, it's no longer non-magical, so the Enchant Item ritual no longer functions).
 

Indeed, no such formula. Instructions are given on what level and enhancement bonus to give for a single effect, and players are able to only enchant an item with a single effect (since once you're enchanted it, it's no longer non-magical, so the Enchant Item ritual no longer functions).

AV has the Transfer Enchantment ritual, however, so I assume it might become possible to create a Swiss army sword. I don't think this is a terrible thing, though; you're unlikely to find one in a pile of treasure, so it's something that must be made by the characters during the adventure, and there's the cost and time of performing the ritual to move each enchantment you want from one weapon to the intended superweapon. I also imagine that the enhancement bonuses won't stack, any more than resistances do: instead, the weapon will just take the higher enhancement bonus, and gain another damage type. For instance, transfering a +2 thunder enchantment to a +3 lightning sword will give you a +3 thunder and lightning sword. Since you're putting forth so much effort and won't be gaining much except flavor, a weapon that's more difficult to resist, and new options for what daily power to use, I don't think it's especially broken to allow. I suppose we'll see if I'm right, when Adventurer's Vault finally hits everywhere.
 


AV has the Transfer Enchantment ritual, however, so I assume it might become possible to create a Swiss army sword.
In the AV spoilers thread ( http://forums.gleemax.com/showthread.php?p=16811334#post16811334 ), the poster who has the book mentions the Transfer Ench. ritual, but the next point he says he did not see any methods to give multiple abilities to an item. I'm thinking Trans. Ench. would let you take the properties of say a 10th level magical sword and overwrite the abilities of your 5th level magical axe (assuming the magical property applies to an axe.)

With weapon powers in particular, you'd actually lose some of the enchantment if multi-power items were allowed, since things like "does x dice of type x damage on a critical" definitely should not stack.

I'm also all for saying "No!" to multi-powered items like the rod described by the OP. I think having to choose what type of power you want for your items helps build more interesting "themed" characters, rather than characters focused on having a breadth of tactical options with their items (there's enough of that in the class powers).
 
Last edited:

I'm also thinking Transfer Enchantment ritual may be more for putting the +2 from the dead hobgoblin's axe onto your prefered non-magical weapon, rather than trying to sell the axe to get the funds to eventually buy the +2 longsword (or whatever)
 

so what you are saying is that, if in the last campaign my DM gave the level 2 cleric a bastard sword with the terror property and the vicious property with a
+2 magic enhancement while calling it legal, is not right? good to know lol.
 

so what you are saying is that, if in the last campaign my DM gave the level 2 cleric a bastard sword with the terror property and the vicious property with a +2 magic enhancement while calling it legal, is not right? good to know lol.
Yeah, by current RAW, you could have a +2 Terror Weapon, or a +2 Vicious Weapon, but there's no such thing as a +2 Vicious Terror Weapon.

And under the parcel system, a level 2 cleric shouldn't be anywhere near a +2 terror weapon (lvl 9), and is really borderline munchkin to be getting ahold of a +2 vicious weapon (lvl 7).

But anything the DM wants to do in their own campaign is legal in their campaign.
 

Remove ads

Top