Concentration Checks

I you move (via a move action), and in doing so take damage, do you have to make a Concentration check to cast a spell as a standard action (such as Mage Armor)?

I don't think you would but I wondered if Concentration checks needed to be made if you just took damage on the same turn as casting a spell or if it needed to be during the actual casting action (for example, if someone had readied an action to attack the caster as soon as he began casting).

Olaf the Stout
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Rules Compendium (pg 33)

Has new text that clarifies this one.

"A distraction strikes during a task you're attempting if it comes between when you start and when you complete that act (for a deed that takes 1 round or more, or if it comes in response to your initiating that activity (such as an attack of opportunity provoked by what you're doing or a contingent attack, such as a readied action)."

Since casting a spell doesn't start until after the move (in this example) the damage has already occured so there is no distraction to the casting.
 

Thanks for that. I thought as much but I just wanted some confirmation. I imagine my player might be doing this a bit with his PC so I wanted to make sure.

Olaf the Stout
 

Remove ads

Top