Conditions and "when bloodied" triggers

Dr_Ruminahui

First Post
In a game I had the players daze the BBEG and then bloody him. At this point, he coffed up and spat out an egg which, upon landing in a fire, turned into a demon. After describing what happened, a player asked me if the monster could do that while dazed. As it was, it could, as this was simply me thematically describing how reinforcements showed up when the monster was bloodied - but it could easily have been written into the monster as a power.

So, I'm just wondering how you guys handle monsters/players who have been stunned/dazed/knocked unconscious and then have a situational power (such as "when bloodied" or "when reduced to zero hit points") triggered. This power might be a "free" or a "no action" power. I'm not so concerned as to strict RAW (though, I certainly am interested in what the rules have to say about this) but as to the implications of ruling consistently one way or the other.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Depends on the trigger. Some are immediate reactions, so don't work when dazed. Some are free actions, so do. Some have parts that work and parts that don't - like a dragon that is stunned will recharge its breath weapon, but can't take it as a free action.

And sometimes it just works, even while stunned, like a boneshard skeleton's explosion.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top