Creating Magic Items


log in or register to remove this ad

There are some items that have effects you can trigger on a hit, but they usually aren't "spells" per se.

If, however, your DM allows such a thing, then, yes it is fully possible within the framework of the rules, but nothing exists currently that does it in the way you are thinking of, to the best of my knowledge (which I admit is not exhaustive).

EDIT: Closest thing I can think of is Armor of Exploits, which allows you to store a Martial power within and use it later. I see no reason why something like this for Arcane or Divine (or whatever) powers could not exist, but none does to the best of my knowledge.

There are several implements that give you per-encounter uses of arcane at-will powers and dailly uses of encounter powers though, now that I think of it, but they are all specific as to which power and which item, and they all take a separate action to use, and thus don't trigger "on hit."

You could, however, use an AP to use one in the same turn that you do hit, but that's not quite the same thing at all.
 
Last edited:

so DM Discretion then...that should be fine if it's only a level 1 At-Will power from a Wizard. Especially if it's limited to only spells that have a single target.
 

If that's what you're after, check into the implements I mentioned. Wands, Staffs, Rods, Orbs; some of them have built-in per-encounter uses of Wizard (or other) powers.

As a DM, I would seriously never allow someone an item that triggered an at-will on hit though, unless it was limited to once per encounter or similar. Too unbalancing otherwise. It would turn you into "Instant Striker! Just add Item!"

No thanks! Hah. :)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top