Crit hit with stored spell in wpn

Oh and I think the AC 5 thing for squares with fireballs was just if you were aiming at a specific square to target the spread effect to avoid killing comrades. You then had to hit AC5, and you still can't crit because the roll is to target the bead of force that becomes the fireball, and this does no damage: it is the subsequent explosion of fire from that point that does the damage.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


No

All "spell in weapon" type effect become "extra damage dice" and as such are explictily not multiplied on crit.

Thanks for your answer, even though I think this was pointed out somewhere inthis thread already.
The only thing missing is some quote for reference, IIRC

Your houseruling, Ydars, sounds interesting. I think I'll present this to my DM after some argument-finding by myself.

Btw, just as a small hint - perhaps you like the spell "Dolorous Blow" then. Its somewhere in the Dragon-Magazines. Doubles the threat range of your weapon (does not stack with "keen" and so on) and automatically confirms any crit threat ;)
 

Thanks for your answer, even though I think this was pointed out somewhere inthis thread already.
The only thing missing is some quote for reference, IIRC

PHB page 134 explicitly says that any extra dice above the weapon's normal damage dice are not multiplied. There isn't any legitimate way to suggest that the spell in the weapon becomes the weapon's normal damage, therefore under any reading (including the most liberal interpretation) the spell damage is not multiplied on a critical.
 

Thanks for your reference.

Altough In my oponion this rule applies to damage dice which are part of the weapons ability or the specific attack which damage is dealt by (as given by the examples: sneak attack / flaming sword).

Now, tha ability "Spell Storing" does not do damage by itsel, instead
the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires.
So, the spell is "re-cast". Since the spell is cast "as if" it were cast by you with the exception that it is cast on hit I dont think this counts as extra damage dice done by the weapon, but by a spell, which is triggered on hit and thus circumvents the rule from p. 134 PHB.
 


Now, THAT is a reference which is as clear as glass. Thanks, risner!
I wonder how I managed not to stumble across this article when searching the website o_O

Anyway, my dm houseruled yesterdays evening that stored spell crit when the weapon crits. So I'm both happy with finding the "right" answer here folling the "RAW" (even if it comes from an "Ask the sage" article) and with the houseruling.

Thanks all for participating!
 

Remove ads

Top