Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Dazzed until grabbed?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="DracoSuave" data-source="post: 4585512" data-attributes="member: 71571"><p>No no no no.</p><p></p><p>No.</p><p></p><p>You still -get- your three actions. But, you can only -use- one of them. That's a different can of worms entirely. Under dazed, once you've used one of them, you've reached the limitation of what dazed allows you to do. You haven't used up your three actions, so if that action happens to lift dazed, then the dazed condition, having ended, no longer sets a restriction on how you may spend the actions you have. </p><p></p><p>It's similiar to how being immobilized doesn't stop you from actually taking most movement actions, it merely prevents you from leaving your square, making doing so pointless.</p><p></p><p>Other restrictions that work the same way: You can have multiple action points, but you're restricted to spending one per encounter. Lift the restriction, and you can spend the action points you have. You have multiple healing surges, but you can only spend them under special circumstances (Second Wind, power usage, etc). You have multiple actions, but while dazed you can only access one of them per turn.</p><p></p><p>Notice the wording on the 'take actions' part of your turn: 'You get a....' </p><p></p><p>Contrast that with dazed: 'You can take either a standard action, a move action, or a minor action on your turn.' It doesn't change the number or types of actions you -get-. If that were the case, it'd say 'You only get a standard action on your turn.' It does't override what you -get-, it overides what you're allowed to -take.-</p><p></p><p>If you're no longer dazed, for example, you can now take opportunity actions, and immediate actions. If it worked the other way, being dazed would prevent you from having that immediate action assigned to you, and if lifted, you'd have it pre-depleted and could not use it.</p><p></p><p>Hogwash.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="DracoSuave, post: 4585512, member: 71571"] No no no no. No. You still -get- your three actions. But, you can only -use- one of them. That's a different can of worms entirely. Under dazed, once you've used one of them, you've reached the limitation of what dazed allows you to do. You haven't used up your three actions, so if that action happens to lift dazed, then the dazed condition, having ended, no longer sets a restriction on how you may spend the actions you have. It's similiar to how being immobilized doesn't stop you from actually taking most movement actions, it merely prevents you from leaving your square, making doing so pointless. Other restrictions that work the same way: You can have multiple action points, but you're restricted to spending one per encounter. Lift the restriction, and you can spend the action points you have. You have multiple healing surges, but you can only spend them under special circumstances (Second Wind, power usage, etc). You have multiple actions, but while dazed you can only access one of them per turn. Notice the wording on the 'take actions' part of your turn: 'You get a....' Contrast that with dazed: 'You can take either a standard action, a move action, or a minor action on your turn.' It doesn't change the number or types of actions you -get-. If that were the case, it'd say 'You only get a standard action on your turn.' It does't override what you -get-, it overides what you're allowed to -take.- If you're no longer dazed, for example, you can now take opportunity actions, and immediate actions. If it worked the other way, being dazed would prevent you from having that immediate action assigned to you, and if lifted, you'd have it pre-depleted and could not use it. Hogwash. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Dazzed until grabbed?
Top