DC's for scrolls?

Black Omega

First Post
This question haas come up in my game and now I'm trying to track down an official answer.

How do you calculate the DC of a spell put on a scroll? we've always been doing it as if the wizard was casting the spell. DC = 10+spell level+Caster's Int.

Other sources, such as SKR's webpage, are saying it's actually DC = 10+spell level+minimim int to cast the spell's modifier. So a Hold person scroll would be DC: 10+3+1 (12 int needed to cast) for a total DC of 14.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Black Omega said:
Other sources, such as SKR's webpage, are saying it's actually DC = 10+spell level+minimim int to cast the spell's modifier. So a Hold person scroll would be DC: 10+3+1 (12 int needed to cast) for a total DC of 14.

SKR is correct. The DC can also be calculated as 10 + spell level * 1.5.
 

Doh. DMG, page 176, paragraph Saving Throws Against Magic Item Powers.

A year of GMing this silly game and I'm still finding things I'd overlooked.:)
 

this is for a default scroll that is found.

A Player that takes the time, xp and money can make it to his level and int. Hence 10++int mod+spell level. BUT only if it's a special case.

If this is just a treasure that is being found, for simplicity it is 10+spell level + min INT mod.
 

This is for any default scroll as I understand it. If you want a higher DC you use heighten feat and calculate the cost appropriately. Otherwise you get two scrolls one with DC 12 another with DC 14 both for the same base cost, while obviously the second is worth more.
 

Kyramus said:
this is for a default scroll that is found.

A Player that takes the time, xp and money can make it to his level and int. Hence 10++int mod+spell level. BUT only if it's a special case.


I'm trying to be as official as I can on this, can you please point out where in the DMG it says this, please?

Thanks.
 

Brown Jenkin said:
This is for any default scroll as I understand it. If you want a higher DC you use heighten feat and calculate the cost appropriately. Otherwise you get two scrolls one with DC 12 another with DC 14 both for the same base cost, while obviously the second is worth more.

No, its not default. Caster Level for magic items is default; but Caster Level does not figure in DCs.

The only way I know of increasing the DC for magic items is to use Heighten spell when creating the magic item.
 

Black Omega said:
I'm trying to be as official as I can on this, can you please point out where in the DMG it says this, please?

He won't be able to find a quote, because no such rule is there. The only way to improve a scroll's DC is to use Heighten Spell on the spell in question.
 

hey, what is the SKR again? I know this is probably a stupid question. (I run a d20 campaign, I don't play a lot of regular D&D)

Sunfist
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top