defeating gaseous form

Drithun

First Post
yay my first post!

The party I am travelling with is about to encounter a nasty ogre mage. If he decides to use gaseous form, I would like to be prepared for it. I was considering summoning 1d4+1 small air elementals if he does go gas. Having the elementals use whirlwind attack inside the area of the gaseous form, then having them collect some of the form, and each fly away in different directions. helpless as gas, in 8 rounds he would be split up 800 ft from the origin point. leaving each part of him at least 1600 ft away.

would this

a. do nothing? (1)
b. make him unable to cast as he isn't all together
c. hurt him badly if he attempted to reform to natural state after x ft.?
d. make him ever so slowly fly back at 10ft/round to recollect and reform?
e. piss him off so that he uses disentagrate vs. all of us. one at a time.

(1) if a. then are there other tasty ways to deal with characters in gaseous form that leaves them wishing they had never gone there. i'm currently a lvl. 10 wizard.

Thank you,

Drithun
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Im not sure if you had just go hit a gaseous creature.. but

the Gas is connected like.. a human body is.. You cant just put a Toe in a bottle, without cutting is off.
Likewise you cant take some of the gas, without getting the rest too.. (i think)

Is it mentioned ANYWERE how big the *cloud* of gas is?
 

in the rules it mentions that the gaseous form is affected by winds. why could it not be dispersed? regarding the size, no it doesn't. how large or small can the form be?
 

You can use all your magic on the gaseous creature just fine. It's like a corporeal target for you. Just Magic Missile or Fireball it, or whatever. Magic weapons also work normally, the cloud only provides protection against nonmagical attacks.

I really don't think what you intend would work at all. No, it cannot be dispersed by wind. ;)

Bye
Thanee
 

Drithun said:
I was considering summoning 1d4+1 small air elementals if he does go gas. Having the elementals use whirlwind attack inside the area of the gaseous form, then having them collect some of the form, and each fly away in different directions...

In D&D this must be adjudicated as a regular attack. You cannot decide to "cut part of someone off" and have it succeed just because it's a clever idea. If the elementals succeed in attacking and killing the gaseous ogre mage, then they can do whatever they wish with the remnants.
 

Enchanted Trinkets Complete

Remove ads

Top