Defending Weapons

Hypersmurf said:
I'd be inclined to (house?)rule that a GMW enhancement can't be Defendingised, as well.

It would and wouldn't be a house rule. There isn't any errata that says one way or the other. I have two different replies in my sage archive, one that says you can and one that says you can't. Here's a snip from the one that says you can't (which I agree with)...

Note that of you had a +1 defending weapon and you made it +5 with greater magic weapon, you could only devote +1 to defense (giving you +1 AC and +4 attack).
 

log in or register to remove this ad

KaeYoss said:
Loosing a dancing weapon is a standard action.

Yup. But you can get quite a few going at once. :D

KaeYoss said:
Also, it can be argued whether such a weapon still convers its bonus to your defense (but it would make some sense)

I think I even started that old thread. Hmm...where is that now...
 


kreynolds said:


Yup. But you can get quite a few going at once. :D


I think it's a standard action per weapon, so you won't be able to draw 5 defending dancing daggers and lose them all in one round, as was originally intended.
 

KaeYoss said:
I think it's a standard action per weapon, so you won't be able to draw 5 defending dancing daggers and lose them all in one round, as was originally intended.

Exactly. The thread I linked to illustrates this.
 

Note that of you had a +1 defending weapon and you made it +5 with greater magic weapon, you could only devote +1 to defense (giving you +1 AC and +4 attack).

Well, we know this is wrong.

A +1 defending dagger with GMW(+5) cast on it has two enhancement bonuses. The +1 that goes with defending and the +5 from GMW. Since they are both enhancement bonuses you get +5 to att/dam.
If you take the +1 Enhancement away and add it to AC you have a +0/+5. Again +5 to att/dam, add +1 to AC.
I dont believe that the defending even 'sees' the GMW to be able to convert it to AC, but thats still arguable.
 

Stack?

Furthermore, I would rule that the Defending bonus is an Enhancement bonus, so no stacking them. The DMG says that it is an Enhancement bonus, but also that it stacks with all others... I would rename it a "Defending Bonus", and limit it to +5.

Also, I agree that Greater Magic Weapon wouldn't affect the Defending Bonus, and that the weapons must be wielded for the bonus to take affect. I disagree that the weapon has to be used to attack in order to grant the AC. If you're attacked by archers at beyond 5' range you get no bonus?
 

The part about the must to attack actually means that you must use the attack or full attack action. You can use those actions without actually making a single strike. So this means that you gain the bonus even if you don't attack that archer, but it also means that you don't get the bonus if you just hold the weapon in your hand, and use your standard action to cast a spell.
 

Marshall said:
Well, we know this is wrong.

A +1 defending dagger with GMW(+5) cast on it has two enhancement bonuses. The +1 that goes with defending and the +5 from GMW. Since they are both enhancement bonuses you get +5 to att/dam.

I'm not so sure its wrong. The Sages point of view is that A) they are both enhancement bonuses, so they don't stack, which is perfectly correct, and B) the +1 enhancement bonus of the sword doesn't go anywhere, even when moved to AC. It's still there, so it doesn't stack with GMW.
 

Remove ads

Top