Dimension Door and Haste

Lucius Foxhound

First Post
Can a hasted mage cast another spell after dimension door? The desription of dimension door says:

"After using this spell, the character can’t take any other actions until the character's next turn."

In 2E rules, you were stunned for a round after using this spell ... which makes me think that you cannot take another action.

Any help?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Quite clear: he can't. As he doesn't get an additional turn by Haste, he has to wait until his next turn to take an action.

Allies teleported by a Dimension Door can't act also til their next turn, IMO (but the spell does not state that clearly).
 

Here's a side question:

Does the lose a turn rule apply to anyone that the caster DimDoors with him? The wording of the spell suggests not...

After using this spell, the character can’t take any other actions until the character's next turn.
 


From the SRD:
Target: The character and touched objects or other touched willing creatures...

After using this spell, the character can't take any other actions until the character's next turn.
There is no indication that the other touched willing creatures cannot act normally.

Even if it did say that other touched willing creatures can't take any other actions until their next turn, it would be meaningless since they were transported on the caster's turn, not theirs. They won't be taking any actions util their next turn anyway!
 

Bastard, checking in

Hey, Lucius...I think I know where this is leading. If you were to cast Haste, you could follow it immediately with a Dimension Door, and then you couldn't take another action until the following round.

But the spell doesn't say anything about free actions, like talking. Assuming you've won initiative, you might not need to do anything but appear.

However, I see your dilemma, because if you appear and calm the beastie and Dalabrac attacks anyway...then the charm is broken and you're in the middle of a situation you'd, ahem, rather not be.

Hey...I'm a bastard AND a mind-reader! :)
 

Tom -- Actually, I posted this before Dalabrac did the STUPID move of attacking a griffon that I'd already charmed.

But thanks for the good idea! I hadn't thought to use DD to help him (I was going to let him die for his stupidity).
 

Ki Ryn said:
From the SRD: There is no indication that the other touched willing creatures cannot act normally.

Even if it did say that other touched willing creatures can't take any other actions until their next turn, it would be meaningless since they were transported on the caster's turn, not theirs. They won't be taking any actions util their next turn anyway!

Not necessarily. If the allies delay their actions UNTIL DD has been cast, they'd lose one complete turn (if the spell would have the same drawbacks for the allies as it has for the caster). In AD&D times, DD had the drawback that a round is needed to check the new circumstances - for all creatures teleported, IIRC. In D&D it applies clearly only to the caster, but it does not say that allies are an exception. Before starting a Yes - No argument, is there an errata, faq, sage ruling or something like that (IIRC, there is no clear wording :( )? Or is rule 0 needed?
 

Dark Dragon said:
Not necessarily. If the allies delay their actions UNTIL DD has been cast, they'd lose one complete turn (if the spell would have the same drawbacks for the allies as it has for the caster).
If the allies had readied actions, then they could go off before the DD, (but on the same init count as the DD).

If the allies had dealyed their actions, then they could go off on the init count after the DD (which is on the allies next turn.

If the allies are trying to ready actions to go off immeadiately after the DD, then they need to re-read the PHB.
 

Remove ads

Top