Dimension Door Clarification


log in or register to remove this ad


lottrbacchus said:
So "I" dimension door somewhere- I can take no other action until my next turn. Does this include AoO?

Ooo, this is a good one for Frank.

Is an AoO an action?

If yes, then no.
If no, then yes.
 

AoO's are listed as "free attacks", and they aren't listed under "Actions in Combat", but I think the more pertinent question is do you threaten if you are incapable of taking Actions?

To quote the leader of the Neutral Planet, all I know is my gut says maybe. Dim Door is a little weird because you can take a move action and then cast it, but you can't cast it and then take a move action. This implies the character is a little "out of it" after blipping, like being Dazed. No penalties to AC, but incapable of taking actions. (As a side note, if the spell said, "After casting this spell, the subject is Dazed until the next action", it really wouldn't change that much but it might make people less likely to cast it.)

If an AoO is a Free Attack, and an Attack is an action, I would think you can't take an AoO if you can't act.
 


lottrbacchus said:
hmmm. i like the 'dazed' explanation, but why don't the rules just say it? "the caster is considered dazed until her next turn" or some such...
Because casters would immediately find a way to get immunity from dazing effects.
 

werk said:
Is an AoO an action?

No. Action are something that takes place on your initiative count (unless the action specifically says otherwise, like talking or an immediate action). Since an AoO does not take place on your initiative count (and does not explicitly call itself out as an exception), they are not an action.
 

Deset Gled said:
No. Action are something that takes place on your initiative count (unless the action specifically says otherwise, like talking or an immediate action). Since an AoO does not take place on your initiative count (and does not explicitly call itself out as an exception), they are not an action.
So, a nauseated or panicked creature could make AoO in your opinion?

By your reasoning an AoO could never draw an AoO:

SRD said:
Provoking an Attack of Opportunity

Two kinds of actions can provoke attacks of opportunity: moving out of a threatened square and performing an action within a threatened square.
Moving

Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes an attack of opportunity from the threatening opponent. There are two common methods of avoiding such an attack—the 5-foot step and the withdraw action.

Performing a Distracting Act

Some actions, when performed in a threatened square, provoke attacks of opportunity as you divert your attention from the battle. Actions in Combat notes many of the actions that provoke attacks of opportunity.

Remember that even actions that normally provoke attacks of opportunity may have exceptions to this rule.
 

Egres said:
So, a nauseated or panicked creature could make AoO in your opinion?

Technically, yes. In practice, I would not allow it. I consider this an oversight.

By your reasoning an AoO could never draw an AoO:

Nope. That text says that some actions can cause an AoO. It does not say things that are not actions cannot cause an AoO.
 

Deset Gled said:
Nope. That text says that some actions can cause an AoO. It does not say things that are not actions cannot cause an AoO.
?

You might want to read it again:

Two kinds of actions can provoke attacks of opportunity: moving out of a threatened square and performing an action within a threatened square.
Tertium non datur, unless you can cite a rule that proves that an AoO can draw an AoO.
 

Remove ads

Top