Disintegrate with Swallowed PC

Krystoff

First Post
Hello everyone,

Quick question for you all.

If you try to disintegrate a monster that has currently swallowed a PC, what happens to the PC?

Does the PC become part of the monster when he is swallowed, thereby not getting a save. Hence, if the monster misses his save, the PC is toast.

The PC is part of the monster but receives his own save. So if the monster goes up in a cloud of dust the PC has a chance to live.

The PC is not considered part of the monster and just falls out of the stomach

Just curious
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Krystoff said:
If you try to disintegrate a monster that has currently swallowed a PC, what happens to the PC?

If the PC is alive, he's fine. Disintegrate can only target one creature or one object, and two creatures are not one object. If the PC is dead, I'd rule he's toast. However, anything big enough to actually swallow whole is usually too big to wholy disintegrate in one shot anyway.
 

Re: Re: Disintegrate with Swallowed PC

kreynolds said:

However, anything big enough to actually swallow whole is usually too big to wholy disintegrate in one shot anyway.
The 10'-cube limit is only for nonliving matter. A living creature who fails its save will go away entirely, regardless of its size.
 

However, anything big enough to actually swallow whole is usually too big to wholy disintegrate in one shot anyway.

Would the disintgrate then do hit point damage equal to the proportion of the creature disintegrated? Say it's a Gargantuan Plant creature that's 10'x60' would it take 1/6 of it's current hit points?
 

Dwarmaj said:


Would the disintgrate then do hit point damage equal to the proportion of the creature disintegrated? Say it's a Gargantuan Plant creature that's 10'x60' would it take 1/6 of it's current hit points?

See Auraseer's comment above. As long as the gargantuan plant creature fails its save, all of it will be disintegrated.
 

As long as the gargantuan plant creature fails its save, all of it will be disintegrated.

Hmm, wouldn't the creature inside still have to make a save then.

True, disintegrate normally affects only a single creature, but this seems to be a special case. One creature is inside of another.
 

Dwarmaj said:

Hmm, wouldn't the creature inside still have to make a save then.

True, disintegrate normally affects only a single creature, but this seems to be a special case. One creature is inside of another.
Nope, no special case here. Disintegrate affects only one creature or object. Two creatures are not one creature, regardless of where they happen to be standing.
 

I'd definitely agree - it's the same thing as if you'd disintigrated one creature if a pair of them were grappling. It's sort of odd... but it also makes sense.

One minute Tordek is struggling to cut his way out of a Purple Worm's stomach... the next, *poof* falls flat on his ass.
 

Dwarmaj said:


Would the disintgrate then do hit point damage equal to the proportion of the creature disintegrated? Say it's a Gargantuan Plant creature that's 10'x60' would it take 1/6 of it's current hit points?
As a general house rule for very large undead and constructs I've decided that (since the're objects and not living creatures) it only takes out a 10'x10'x10' chunk, dealing 20d6 + 1d6/level (max +30).
 

Re: Re: Re: Disintegrate with Swallowed PC

AuraSeer said:
The 10'-cube limit is only for nonliving matter. A living creature who fails its save will go away entirely, regardless of its size.

Well I'll be...thanks for the clarificaiton. I hadn't noticed that. Now all I need to do is figure out where the heck I came up with that. :)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top