Disintegrate

Altamont Ravenard said:
Yes but if the magic deals non-lethal damage, then the troll can't be reduced below 0 hp, and thus, can't be killed with Disintegrate...
AR
Where do you get this? About magic dealing non-lethal?

ciaran
 

log in or register to remove this ad

ciaran00 said:
Where do you get this? About magic dealing non-lethal?

ciaran
All damage that is neither acid nor fire is non-lethal damage to a troll.

EDIT: Since creatures with regeneration convert all damage to non-lethal except what is defined in their description. And thus since the troll is never put below 0, it is never turned to dust.
 
Last edited:

Clear case for a House Rule fix.

If Disintegrate deals enough non-lethal damage to force a creature unconscious, that creature is turned to dust as if they had been killed by the damage.

That means that partial Disintegration damage regenerates, but a totally Disintegrated troll doesn't reassemble.
 


Why not just say that if the Disintegrate damage is more than a character's current hit points, he disintegrates? At that point, it would also become redundant to say anyone reduced to 0 or less hit points disintegrates.
 

pawsplay said:
I was curious what happened to Trolls under 3.5 with disintegration, but I seem to have hit a bit of a bump. It's been converted to a damage spell (hmm). Nobody remembered to tell the guy writing the regeneration description, though.

I reported it soon after the books were released as errata to the WotC person to whom such things should be addressed, and she(?) agreed that it was a problem in the description of Regeneration. Presumably it will appear in errata at some point.
 

well since disinigrate disinigrates those brought to 0 hp or less and you can be brought to 0 hp through non-lethal damage wouldn't the troll be disinigrated since it is 0 hp or less. So by by troll since you only have to drop him to 0 hp which can happen through non-lethal damage.
 

Shard O'Glase said:
well since disinigrate disinigrates those brought to 0 hp or less and you can be brought to 0 hp through non-lethal damage wouldn't the troll be disinigrated since it is 0 hp or less. So by by troll since you only have to drop him to 0 hp which can happen through non-lethal damage.

Nope. The troll is only taking subdual damage. This is a number that adds up, rather than subtracts from your hit points. The troll falls unconscious if it's subdual damage exceeds its current hit points.

Which means subdual/nonlethal damage should not be called damage (confusing, eh?).
 


Plane Sailing said:
I reported it soon after the books were released as errata to the WotC person to whom such things should be addressed, and she(?) agreed that it was a problem in the description of Regeneration. Presumably it will appear in errata at some point.
You're funny.

WotC is not releasing much int the form of errata. They're only fixing 'critical' issues. Let me rephrase that. They're only fixing issues that seem critical to them. Their PHB errata gives an example of issues they find to be critical.

This is a rather small issue compared to some of the other problems in 3.5. If they were not willing to fix those, I think it unliekly that they'll bother with this type of thing.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top