Constructs are creatures, not magic items. And, no, the rules for creating constructs are somewhat different from those for creating magic items.Quidam said:But aren't constructs magic items? Do you not take the Craft Construct feat and follow rules precisely like those detailed for other magic items?
Is there a specific citation making explicit the difference between constructs and other magic items when it comes to dispel magic?
If Dispel Magic affected constructs, it would say so, it says it affects spells, ongoing spell effects (which includes summons), and magic items. If that construct is under the effects of a spell or has magic items, the spells and magic items may be disabled, but nothing'll happen to the construct.
Are you trying to say that you agree with the player in jason's example in that dispel magic will disable constructs?