Here’s a little question for you good folks. It’s regarding Dispel Magic in area form.
In my last game session, I had a rogue wearing a Ring of Invisibility, who had activated it in the previous round. In the current round, there was a Dispel Magic cast, in Area form.
The question is: Can the Invisibility effect granted by a Ring of Invisibility be dispelled by an area Dispel Magic?
My feeling is that using the Ring of Invisibility effectively casts the spell for you. The resulting invisibility effect is dis-spellable. He can certainly re-activate the item.
His contention is that the Dispel Magic spell, in the Area section, says that magic items are not affected by an area dispel.
In the case of items that produce an effect not duplicated by a book spell, or that have a constant effect (Bracers of Armor, etc) I would agree that those shouldn’t be dispelled by the area Dispel Magic affect.
But the Ring of Invisibility reproduces the Invisibility spell, and fit’s all the other criteria for dispelling it’s effect.
What do you all think?
I quoted the appropriate rules after my signature.
Gedvondur
From the 3rd Edition Players Handbook, Copyright Wizards of the Coast:
“Area Dispel: The spell affects everything within a 30-foot radius.
For each creature who is the target of one or more spells, you make a dispel check against the spell with the highest caster level. If that fails, you make dispel checks against progressively weaker spells until you dispel one spell (which discharges the dispel so far as that target is concerned) or fail all your checks. The creature’s magic items are not
affected.
For each object that is the target of one or more spells, you make dispel checks as with creatures. Magic items are not affected by area dispels. For each ongoing area or effect spell centered within the dispel magic’s area, you make a dispel check to dispel the
spell.
For each ongoing spell whose area overlaps that of the dispel, you make a dispel check to end the effect, but only within the area of the dispel magic.
If an object or creature who is the effect of an ongoing spell, such as a monster summoned by monster summoning, is in the area, you make a dispel check to end the spell that conjured the object or creature (returning it whence it came) in addition to attempting to dispel spells targeting the creature or object.
You may choose to automatically succeed at dispel checks against any spell that you have cast.”
From the 3rd Edition Dungeon Master’s Guide, Copyright Wizards of the Coast:
Rings:
“Invisibility
By activating this simple silver ring, the wearer can become invisible, as the spell.
Caster Level: 3rd; Prerequisites: Forge Ring, invisibility; Market Price: 20,000 gp.”
In my last game session, I had a rogue wearing a Ring of Invisibility, who had activated it in the previous round. In the current round, there was a Dispel Magic cast, in Area form.
The question is: Can the Invisibility effect granted by a Ring of Invisibility be dispelled by an area Dispel Magic?
My feeling is that using the Ring of Invisibility effectively casts the spell for you. The resulting invisibility effect is dis-spellable. He can certainly re-activate the item.
His contention is that the Dispel Magic spell, in the Area section, says that magic items are not affected by an area dispel.
In the case of items that produce an effect not duplicated by a book spell, or that have a constant effect (Bracers of Armor, etc) I would agree that those shouldn’t be dispelled by the area Dispel Magic affect.
But the Ring of Invisibility reproduces the Invisibility spell, and fit’s all the other criteria for dispelling it’s effect.
What do you all think?
I quoted the appropriate rules after my signature.
Gedvondur
From the 3rd Edition Players Handbook, Copyright Wizards of the Coast:
“Area Dispel: The spell affects everything within a 30-foot radius.
For each creature who is the target of one or more spells, you make a dispel check against the spell with the highest caster level. If that fails, you make dispel checks against progressively weaker spells until you dispel one spell (which discharges the dispel so far as that target is concerned) or fail all your checks. The creature’s magic items are not
affected.
For each object that is the target of one or more spells, you make dispel checks as with creatures. Magic items are not affected by area dispels. For each ongoing area or effect spell centered within the dispel magic’s area, you make a dispel check to dispel the
spell.
For each ongoing spell whose area overlaps that of the dispel, you make a dispel check to end the effect, but only within the area of the dispel magic.
If an object or creature who is the effect of an ongoing spell, such as a monster summoned by monster summoning, is in the area, you make a dispel check to end the spell that conjured the object or creature (returning it whence it came) in addition to attempting to dispel spells targeting the creature or object.
You may choose to automatically succeed at dispel checks against any spell that you have cast.”
From the 3rd Edition Dungeon Master’s Guide, Copyright Wizards of the Coast:
Rings:
“Invisibility
By activating this simple silver ring, the wearer can become invisible, as the spell.
Caster Level: 3rd; Prerequisites: Forge Ring, invisibility; Market Price: 20,000 gp.”