Dispel Magic vs. Magic Weapon?

If a character is hit with a targetted (creature) dispel magic spell and has a magic weapon spell active on his/her weapon, does the magic weapon spell need to check against dispelling?

The reason I ask is to check whether spells cast on personal items count for purposes of this type of dispelling. And I realize that the spell specifically mentions casting on a magic item, but would the caster level of the creator be used or the caster level of the magic weapon spell?

I don't think so, but I'm just checking...
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


Ogrork the Mighty said:
If a character is hit with a targetted (creature) dispel magic spell and has a magic weapon spell active on his/her weapon, does the magic weapon spell need to check against dispelling?
No. The caster would need to target the object directly or, better yet, do an area dispel which would take off up to 1 spell effect on the victim and possibly each effect on his item(s), such as magic weapon, magic vestment, spiritual weapon hovering nearby, etc.

Some people do rule that a targeted dispel on a creature will remove the magic weapon (or more likely the greater magic weapon), but I'm sure that's not according to the rules. Nor do I believe it helps at all with respect to any balance or playability concerns.
 


Remove ads

Top