Nail
First Post
And "wow" is that sucker buried. It's in the 3.0e FAQ:dcollins said:- "Countering" is very specific, both effects disappear. The FAQ has an entry specifying this.
3.0_FAQ said:Q: When an opposite spell is used to negate an effect that is
already in place (such as using slow spell to counter and
dispel a haste spell), is the success of the dispel automatic,
or is a level check required? Does the subject or the caster
of the spell being countered and dispelled get a saving
throw?
A: Two opposite spells simply negate each other. No dispel
check is required, no saving throw is allowed, and spell
resistance does not apply.