divine shield and two weapon fighting

00durrin

First Post
the feat from Defenders of the Faith.
what if you have a charisma modifier above +5?
could you, for example, with the requisite charisma score, turn your shield into a +10 shield that attacks at +10 and does +10 damage? assuming you had 30 charisma of course.

would the +'s from this feat affect the bull rush from improved shield bash in any way? i.e. give +'s to the opposed strength check or anything of that sort.

also, if you read the FAQ on WOTC's website...the last entry about Divine Might says using the feats is a free action. in DoF, however, under Divine Feats, it specifically states that activation of the feats is a standard action, just like a turn/rebuke attempt. Which is right?

finally, can offhand attacks be made before primary attacks? or do all attacks, regardless of hand, go in descending attack bonus order? in which case the question becomes whether you can choose which attack of equal attack bonus happens first.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Re: divine shield

the feat from Defenders of the Faith.
what if you have a charisma modifier above +5?

There is argument :) Better ask your DM :)

would the +'s from this feat affect the bull rush from improved shield bash in any way? i.e. give +'s to the opposed strength check or anything of that sort.

No. Attack rolls, damage, and AC only.

also, if you read the FAQ on WOTC's website...the last entry about Divine Might says using the feats is a free action. in DoF, however, under Divine Feats, it specifically states that activation of the feats is a standard action, just like a turn/rebuke attempt. Which is right?

For any Divine Feat except Divine Might, it's definitely a standard action. For Divine Might, it depends whether your DM feels that the FAQ can introduce changes, or merely clarify ambiguities. There's nothing unclear about the feat in DotF, but if your DM chooses to accept the ruling in the FAQ, Divine Might is activated as "not an action".

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:

what about my offhand attack question?

on page 124 of the phb it says if you have two weapons you can choose which to attack with first. but it also says you have to attack in descending attack bonus order...

does that mean a fighter with the following attacks (through two weapon fighting, ambi, and improved two weapon fighting) would have to alternate +7, +7, +2, +2 (descending order, getting to choose which weapon goes first in descending order)...
or he could have them at +7, +2, +7, +2 (finishing out an attack sequence with one hand before using the other)?

main hand +7/+2
off hand +7/+2
 

nevermind...i found the answer.
on that same page in the phb it says "if you get multiple attacks BASED ON YOUR BASE ATTACK BONUS, you must make the attacks in order from highest bonus to lowest."

that seems to indicate that multiple attacks from sources other than BAB are not bound by the high to low rule, the way a minotaur can gore and attack, or attack and then gore.

that begs the question of whether or not off hand attacks must be made in descending order, since they are not based on your base attack bonus, but rather come from a feat.
 

First: with a BAB of +7/+2 you can't take Impr TWF.

Second: I'd go with the rule as written that you start with the highest attacks. Applying that to offhand attacks and natural weapon attacks as well.
 

First: with a BAB of +7/+2 you can't take Impr TWF.

With Two-Weapon Fighting penalties, +7/+2 attack bonuses could be a BAB of +9, assuming no Str bonus and a non-masterwork weapon, or a +2 Str bonus if the off-hand weapon isn't light...

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top