Jack of Shadows
First Post
OK,
Last night I killed a PC, here is the scenario.
I'm currently running the Savage Tide AP for my group. The party was approaching the tar pits to find the big T-Rex that was driving the locals away. The catch was that they approached in a gondola carried by a Roc. The Roc had been psionically charmed by the party's Erudite after a random encounter the day before. Said Erudite had used a mindlink power to give the Roc direction to carry the gondola. The Gondola was in fact the Erudite transformed through his metamorphosis power. Unfortunately while in the form of a gondola the Erudite can't use his other powers. No worries, the party's Druid can direct the Roc what to do while in flight.
Party spots the big T-Rex while flying overhead. Druid attempts to direct the Roc to take the party over to the T-Rex. I call for a Handle Animal check to "push" the Roc as it has not been trained, DC is 20. At this point the Druid states he only has a rank or two in handle animal and the roll is a 5. The Roc continues flying in the direction the Erudite had originally told it to go.
At this point the Druid, Dragonborn Dragon Shaman, and Warlock bail out and plummet towards the T-Rex. The Dragonborn unfurls his wings and swoops out of the dive, the Warlock uses his flight power and blasts the T-Rex from above, and the Druid turns into a little bird and flies within reach of the T-Rex. The round continues with more hijinks on the now departing Roc and when the T-Rex's action arrives there are no other targets within reach of the beast. It snaps at the little bird that has flown up near it because it's hurt and enraged and the movement draws its attention. I ruled that the bird was too small to be hit by the T-Rex's jaws (yes, I like to be kind now and then) but the T-Rex still swallows the little bird.
Druid turns back to normal after dismissing the Little Bird spell but is over come by gizzard and stomach acid. Player is now very upset because he doesn't believe the T-Rex would ever have bothered with a bird that size (about the size of a sparrow). I judged that it was a perfectly reasonable reaction to the circumstances given the nature of this creature.
Opinions? Was I unfair in this encounter or did the player get what he deserved? Would you have handled it differently?
Jack
Last night I killed a PC, here is the scenario.
I'm currently running the Savage Tide AP for my group. The party was approaching the tar pits to find the big T-Rex that was driving the locals away. The catch was that they approached in a gondola carried by a Roc. The Roc had been psionically charmed by the party's Erudite after a random encounter the day before. Said Erudite had used a mindlink power to give the Roc direction to carry the gondola. The Gondola was in fact the Erudite transformed through his metamorphosis power. Unfortunately while in the form of a gondola the Erudite can't use his other powers. No worries, the party's Druid can direct the Roc what to do while in flight.
Party spots the big T-Rex while flying overhead. Druid attempts to direct the Roc to take the party over to the T-Rex. I call for a Handle Animal check to "push" the Roc as it has not been trained, DC is 20. At this point the Druid states he only has a rank or two in handle animal and the roll is a 5. The Roc continues flying in the direction the Erudite had originally told it to go.
At this point the Druid, Dragonborn Dragon Shaman, and Warlock bail out and plummet towards the T-Rex. The Dragonborn unfurls his wings and swoops out of the dive, the Warlock uses his flight power and blasts the T-Rex from above, and the Druid turns into a little bird and flies within reach of the T-Rex. The round continues with more hijinks on the now departing Roc and when the T-Rex's action arrives there are no other targets within reach of the beast. It snaps at the little bird that has flown up near it because it's hurt and enraged and the movement draws its attention. I ruled that the bird was too small to be hit by the T-Rex's jaws (yes, I like to be kind now and then) but the T-Rex still swallows the little bird.
Druid turns back to normal after dismissing the Little Bird spell but is over come by gizzard and stomach acid. Player is now very upset because he doesn't believe the T-Rex would ever have bothered with a bird that size (about the size of a sparrow). I judged that it was a perfectly reasonable reaction to the circumstances given the nature of this creature.
Opinions? Was I unfair in this encounter or did the player get what he deserved? Would you have handled it differently?
Jack
Last edited: