Do items count for spell-casting requirements?


log in or register to remove this ad

Yes, only the actual ability level is relevant. That is also the level to use for figuring out bonus spells.

As for the cite... the rules state ability score not unmodified ability score.

Bye
Thanee
 


For citation, consider the DMG sample NPCs and you'll see their spellcasting has been modified by the ability-boost magic items they own. (Looking at 3.0 myself.)
 

Just to clarify why I had to ask: I was 100% certain that items counted, but my DM didn't believe me so I needed you guys to convince him :D

Calypso
 

calypso15 said:
Just to clarify why I had to ask: I was 100% certain that items counted, but my DM didn't believe me so I needed you guys to convince him :D

Calypso

It is pretty much a general rule: ability scores for spellcasting, feat pre-reqs, even spells for item creation, you can use items to provide them. :) Of course, if you lose the item, you lose any abilities it was allowing. :(

I can't give you a specific citation for that in the core books, but I can point out that Int modifying items don't provide extra skill points, because it specifically says so in the item description (and the skill point bit). That strongly implies to me that where it doesn't have such a restriction (pretty much everywhere else), there is no difference between getting 14 due to an item or not (as long as nothing happens to the item).


glass.
 


Remove ads

Top