Does being immune count as successfully saving?

I would rule that being immune to an effect doesn't affect your saving throw against the spell or ability, but rather makes the result of the saving throw almost always negligible.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


atomn said:
If a creature/character is immune to some sort of magic, effect, etc. do they count as "successfully saving" against the magic, effect, etc.?

The Dread Witch PrC (Heroes of Horror) gets the ability that "any fear effect against which you successfully save is immediately targeted back at the source". If the character would have immunity to fear from another PrC, would they be considered to always successfully save or would they not be able to use that ability?
I would say not. That would have "Immunity to Fireball" mean: take half damage. Which doesn't sound like immunity to me...

It is either "Infinite SR" or "Not a Valid Target".
 

Rhun said:
I think this is one of those items that is up to the DM's discretion. The simple solution is:

You could say the PC is always immune to the fear, but still has to make a successful save to see if the effect is reflected back or not.

I agree with Rhun. Have the character make a save. If he fails, nothing happens: he is immune to it. If he succeeds, the effect is reflected back.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top