Double-Dipping Cross-Class At-Wills

Mongo1967

First Post
I was helping a friend make a Paladin character for the campaign that's starting next Monday and she asked me to suggest some choices for her Dilettante racial (she's choosing Half-Elf for RP reasons). I mentioned Eyebite as part of the "Invisadin" build and both she and the GM thought it was a fun idea.

Later, as we were struggling to find a proper Feat, I noticed that she qualified for "Pact Initiate." When I asked if she could use that to have two uses of Eyebite per encounter our GM was taken aback.

My questions:

[1] Is there anything in the RAW that explicitly permits or forbids doubling up in this fashion?

[2] Would you permit it in your game?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I thought there was something in the rules about not having the same power twice. Unfortunately, I don't know the new books well enough to say where!
 

Well, under the powers section, you can't select the same power twice.
However, it's neither overpowered nor (IMO) against RAI to pick the same power for dilettante and pact initiate.
Customer service has also said you can, but I'm dubious about their rulings in general, so ...

I'd be more concerned about the rule if someone were to try for paragon multiclassing, and were disallowed from swapping an at-will for eyebite at 11th 'cos they already got it from pact initiate feat.
In that circumstance, it would be outright silly to disallow it ..
 

Well, under the powers section, you can't select the same power twice.

The only place I can find such language is under the 'gaining levels' section in the PHB (pg 27). That sorta implies that it's a limitation only when gaining new levels or when selecting normal powers as part of leveling up.

I guess this falls squarely under a grey area and is up to each DM to decide.
 

Remove ads

Top