Double Grip w/ Negative STR Mod

FCWesel

First Post
If someone has a -1 STR mod and they use a weapon, lke the Heavy Mace (for example) in a 2-handed grip, do they have a +0 (str mod) to the Damage Roll?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

FCWesel said:
If someone has a -1 STR mod and they use a weapon, lke the Heavy Mace (for example) in a 2-handed grip, do they have a +0 (str mod) to the Damage Roll?
From SRD with emphasis add.
Two-Handed: Two hands are required to use a two-handed melee weapon effectively. Apply 1-1/2 times the character’s Strength bonus to damage rolls for melee attacks with such a weapon.
Note that you add one-and-a-half times you Str Bonus to damage rolls when using a two handed weapon. A Str Penalty does not count as a Bouns (i.e. a bonus is a modifier that is greater than 0).
edited: to correct the error pointed out by Grayhawk
 
Last edited:

As Camarth said, by the standard rules, no.

I've seen a common house rule that using a single handed weapon in 2H allows the str penalty to be halved, and it has a "common sense" feel to it. I also strongly doubt that it would bring upheaval and collapse to any campaign which used it :)

You might want to talk it over with your DM (or if a DM talk it over with your players).

Cheers
 

Camarath said:
Note that you add twice you Str Bonus to damage rolls when using a two handed weapon.
Not twice; one-and-a-half.

(I know that that's what you meant - just trying to avoid confusion...)
 


Grayhawk said:
Not twice; one-and-a-half.

(I know that that's what you meant - just trying to avoid confusion...)
You are right. I will edit my post to avoid futher confusion. I am sorry.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top