My DM has been generous/foolish enough to allow my elven paladin to take a dragon cohort as his special paladin mount (basically using the rules from Defenders of the Faith). Don't worry, it won't unbalance an already high-powered game.
He now has a young adult bronze as his cohort and special paladin mount. In order to save my DM the effort and time, I've statted out the dragon based on the Monster Manual and the special abilities granted by being a special paladin mount. As you can imagine, after looking at the stats, I begin to wonder who should be cohort to whom?'
P69 of the MM (under spells) states that "A dragon knows and casts arcane spells as a sorcerer of the level indicated in its variety description, gaining bonus spells for a high Charisma score."
It then goes on to state that "Some dragons can also cast spells from the cleric spell list or cleric domain lists as arcane spells."
An asterisk note at the bottom of the table (Bronze dragon abilities by age) on p81 states that "Can also cast cleric spells and those from the Animal, Law and Water domains as arcane spells". However I cannot find the referencing asterisk in the table itself, so I guess that it is a general note.
My question is, how does a dragon cast a cleric spell as an arcane spell?
Does that mean, for example, that one of the dragon's known 1st level spells can be a clerical spell instead of a sorcerer spell?
He now has a young adult bronze as his cohort and special paladin mount. In order to save my DM the effort and time, I've statted out the dragon based on the Monster Manual and the special abilities granted by being a special paladin mount. As you can imagine, after looking at the stats, I begin to wonder who should be cohort to whom?'
P69 of the MM (under spells) states that "A dragon knows and casts arcane spells as a sorcerer of the level indicated in its variety description, gaining bonus spells for a high Charisma score."
It then goes on to state that "Some dragons can also cast spells from the cleric spell list or cleric domain lists as arcane spells."
An asterisk note at the bottom of the table (Bronze dragon abilities by age) on p81 states that "Can also cast cleric spells and those from the Animal, Law and Water domains as arcane spells". However I cannot find the referencing asterisk in the table itself, so I guess that it is a general note.
My question is, how does a dragon cast a cleric spell as an arcane spell?
Does that mean, for example, that one of the dragon's known 1st level spells can be a clerical spell instead of a sorcerer spell?