Dumb rules questions

River

First Post
Ok, We've been playing for years and have house ruled all these so long ago I forget what the actual rules are.. still unclear in 3.5....



1. During An AOO, can you trip, grapple, or disarm?

2. Can you cleave as a result of an AOO?


Thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad

1. Well, an AoO is a melee attack. So, everything that counts as a melee attack is allowed for an AoO, IMO. IIRC, trip and disarm count as melee attacks, while a grapple attempt needs a melee touch attack.
Answer: Trip and disarm (and improved grab, it needs only a successful melee attack) - yes, grapple attempt - no.

2. Yes.
 

SRD said:
These attack forms substitute for a melee attack, not an action. As melee attacks, they can be used once in an attack or charge action, one or more times in a full attack action, or even as an attack of opportunity.

And it refers to the following (from combat actions table):

Disarm
Grapple
Trip an opponent
 

SRD->Feats->Cleave said:
If you deal a creature enough damage to make it drop (typically by dropping it to below 0 hit points or killing it), you get an immediate, extra melee attack against another creature within reach. You cannot take a 5-foot step before making this extra attack. The extra attack is with the same weapon and at the same bonus as the attack that dropped the previous creature. You can use this ability once per round.

SRD->Actions in Combat->Full Attack said:
The extra attack granted by the Cleave feat or Great Cleave feat can be taken whenever they apply. This is an exception to the normal limit to the number of attacks you can take when not using a full attack action.

It doesn't specifically say you can or cannot use it in an AoO, although there may be a reference to this in another place in the SRD. I think I would rule that you can use in an AoO, provided that you haven't used it in the current round yet (unless you have Great Cleave).
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top