The purpose of the rules is to convey the intent of the person writing the rules. If the intent is clear from the rules, then the rules are clear. Since no sane person could think the writer intended for the effigy template to be applied to some freakish collection of templates, that's not allowed.IcyCool said:Unless it somehow specifies that templates are not allowed on the base creature, then it sounds like you could do it (note, I don't have the Effigy Creature Template description in front of me at the moment)..Iku Rex said:You can't make effigies out of already templated creatures. No, it doesn't actually say that, but the self evident doesn't have to be stated outright.
The effigy template (or the shapechange spell) have implicit restrictions beyond those specifically included. You can't pile on an infinite number of templates, you can't base it on "elite" creatures, you can't assume the creature "picked" only feats to boost it's natural weapons and so and so forth.
If anyone thinks otherwise, please start a new thread. I started this thread to explore the practical usage of the effigy template, not to indulge in munchkin "it-doesn't-explicitly-say-that-I-can't-so..." fantasies.
