Elements of Magic(R) and Buy The Numbers

Archus

Explorer
This is my first attempt at combining Elements of Magic Revised and Buy The Numbers.

Elements of Magic Revised is an alternate spellcasting system using magic points, noun + verb spell lists, and many other nifty things. Buy The Numbers is a point based character creation system where you use XP to buy your abilities instead of having classes.

To do this I first totaled up how much each BTN primary spellcaster spent on magic for levels 1 - 20. Then I tried to make the EoMR spellcasters spend about as much per level. I smoothed out the MP improvements to numbers divisible by 5 because it made the math easier.

My assumptions for the EoMR caster are:
* They are roughly as powerful as core classes. They give up some power for flexability.

* EoMR spellcasters improve in a fairly linear fashion. So I wanted to make all of the costs work like the base attack bonus improvement in BTN or (Base Cost) * (New Total).

I broke the EoMR abilities up as follows, each is purchased separately:
* Max MP - The maximum MP you can spend on any one spell.

* Spell Lists - The noun+verb abilities.

* MP/Day - How much MP the spellcaster has in a day. Always purchased 5MP at a time.

* Free Cantrips/Day - The number of 0 MP spells castable in a day.

* Signature Spells - The number of signature spells the caster knows at one time.

Here are the costs of improvement under BTN:

+1 Max MP = 250 * [New Rank]
+1 Spell List = 25 * [New Number of Spell Lists]
+5 MP/Day = [New Total MP]
+1 Free Cantrip/Day = 5 * (New Number of Cantrips)
+1 Signature Spell = 10 * (New Number of Signature Spells)

Note: You buy the EoMR magic skills (Dispel Magic, Scry, etc) like any skill under BTN. The max MP you can spend on those skills is your Max MP or the ranks in the skill, whichever is lower.