Enchantments

warpmind

First Post
Is a creature aware of having being affeceted by an enchantment? Suppose a creature which has been affected by Charm Monster. When the duration expires, does it automatically know that it has been targeted by an enchantment or it just thinks that he has behaved oddly? Should it make a Spellcraft check to know what really hat happened to it? How do you handle this?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, the target remembers what it did AFAIK, so it might be possible to draw conclusions depending on the situation. I don't think the target knows, that it was enchanted, tho.

Bye
Thanee
 

Depends on the spell. A creature would not automatically know it was enchanted by a charm spell, but might be able to work it out when the spell wears off. A dominate spell, however, involves direct mental commands, so it would know that it had been affected by one. Check the description under "Charm and Compulsion" on pg.291 of the DMG.
 

You are always aware when you have to make a saving throw against a spell, so you could probably make a resonable deduction from there.

IMC, however, we have house ruled most enchantments as "subtle" to make them more interesting.
 

Ki Ryn said:
You are always aware when you have to make a saving throw against a spell, so you could probably make a resonable deduction from there.

IMC, however, we have house ruled most enchantments as "subtle" to make them more interesting.
The rules don't state that you are always aware when you have to make a saving throw.

They state that you automatically know that something happened when you make your save, and even then you may not know exactly what happened. (PHB, page 177, Succeeding on a Saving Throw)
 

Ki Ryn said:
You are always aware when you have to make a saving throw against a spell, so you could probably make a resonable deduction from there.

IMC, however, we have house ruled most enchantments as "subtle" to make them more interesting.
What Caliban said above. If you blow your save, you do not know that you had to make it. Makes sense, since a large number of spells would be completely useless if the target knew as soon as a save had to be made.
 

Remove ads

Top