Equipment slots for non-humanoids

Korak

First Post
I have been having trouble locating applicable RAW for what magic item slots an ape, or dire ape would have/be able to wear. I will say no more to avoid biasing any answers.

Thanks in advance for your help.
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Let me refine the question...

What types of equipment, designed for humanoids (ie, bought from PHB) do the RAW support as wearable (and in what slots) for apes and dire apes ? Assume the apes are medium size by some means.
 

Korak said:
What types of equipment, designed for humanoids (ie, bought from PHB) do the RAW support as wearable (and in what slots) for apes and dire apes ? Assume the apes are medium size by some means.
None of it... that would all have to be custom made.


Mike
 

mikebr99 said:
None of it... that would all have to be custom made.
That's not entirely true. The hypothetical medium-sized ape could still where a collar made for a humanoid, a belt, too, and maybe even a hat.

Korak, what exactly are you looking for that that wasn't addressed by the "Animal item slots" section in the provided link?
 

You won't find your answer in explicitly the RAW, however, any biped has all the same magic item slots as any other biped. The article linked above is for quadrupeds, and so does not apply to dire apes.

If they were to somehow be made medium-sized (they wouldn't be dire then, would they?), than any magic items normally usable by other medium-sized bipeds is usable.

Finally, note that animals do not have the intelligence to use many magic items. They are pretty much restricted to those that are "always on."
 

Well, consider a druid who wildshapes into a dire ape, thus by the description of wildshape and it's reference to the polymorph spell as a basis, gains the type animal. Who then, with the natural spell feat, casts reduce animal on himself to become medium size again. Which of the items he normally wears in his human (or dwarf/half-orc/insert other medium pc race) form can be worn now? Dragonhide breastplate, magic belt, magic amulets, cloaks, weapons, hats/helms, boots? I have my own ideas, and as home game DM would have no trouble adjudicating the situation with sensible application of rule 0 where the RAW is incomplete. However, I am looking at the situation from the tournament (ie Living campaign) standpoint and thus wanted to gather other perspectives on what the RAW say without potentially influencing anyone with my interpretations (which aren't necessarily final or firm anyway).
 

Korak said:
Which of the items he normally wears in his human (or dwarf/half-orc/insert other medium pc race) form can be worn now? Dragonhide breastplate, magic belt, magic amulets, cloaks, weapons, hats/helms, boots?
All magic gear except for the armor (and weapons) resize to fit the wearer.

I'd let you adjust the straps on the breastplate to make it fit the ape form. (This may take some time.) As for nonmagical gear I'd let you wear a cloak or a belt or a hat, but probably not boots or a helmet. (Not because "apes can't wear boots", but because they wouldn't fit.)

You may want to look at http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20040525a though, where Skip Williams says the following: In general, a change from one form that has a humanoid shape to another form that has a humanoid shape leaves all equipment in place and functioning. The subject's equipment changes to match the assumed form. It becomes the appropriate size for the assumed form and it fits the assumed form. The spellcaster can change minor details in your equipment, such as color, surface texture, and decoration.

Since a dire ape is clearly a humanoid shape, all your equipment, including armor and weapons, remains and resizes to fit the new form. (This isn't really supported by the RAW.)
 
Last edited:

Thanks Iku. I stumbled onto that link last night, I think a few clicks from something else someone linked earlier in the thread. Anyway, I think it's very... interesting that armor and weapons resize with the Skip Williams edition PHB polymorph spell provided you don't change between "humanoid" and "non-humandoid" types.

Thanks for all the replies guys. Just as I suspected, within the scope of tournament rules, the issue is not adequately covered. Expanding RAW to include Skip produces the usual results... direct contradictions to the core books. Once again, that is the nature of a for profit venture with limited resources, they can't cover all eventualities. In home games, that is no problem thanks to rule 0. However, it does create headaches in tournament play.

For the record, this question does not pertain to a character or cohort of mine.
 

Remove ads

Top