Per the Ethereal Jaunt ability for the Ethereal Filcher:
Ethereal Jaunt (Su): An ethereal filcher can shift from the Ethereal Plane to the Material Plane as part of any move action, and shift back again as a free action. It can remain on the Ethereal Plane for 1 round before returning to the Material Plane. The ability is otherwise identical with the ethereal jaunt spell (caster level 15th).
The phrase "can shift from the Ethereal Plane to the Material Plane as part of any move action, and shift back again as a free action" implies that the Ethereal Filcher normally resides on the Ethereal Plane, and uses the Ethereal Jaunt ability to shift to the Material Plane.
But the phrase "It can remain on the Ethereal Plane for 1 round before returning to the Material Plane." seems to imply the opposite.
If the Filcher resides on the Material plane normally, I would have expected the first phrase to read "can shift from the Material to the Ethereal Plane . . .". But if it resides on the Ethereal plane normally, it doesn't make sense that it can only stay there for round before being forced back to the Material plane.
Is there an official (or at least commonly accepted) ruling on this anywhere?
Ethereal Jaunt (Su): An ethereal filcher can shift from the Ethereal Plane to the Material Plane as part of any move action, and shift back again as a free action. It can remain on the Ethereal Plane for 1 round before returning to the Material Plane. The ability is otherwise identical with the ethereal jaunt spell (caster level 15th).
The phrase "can shift from the Ethereal Plane to the Material Plane as part of any move action, and shift back again as a free action" implies that the Ethereal Filcher normally resides on the Ethereal Plane, and uses the Ethereal Jaunt ability to shift to the Material Plane.
But the phrase "It can remain on the Ethereal Plane for 1 round before returning to the Material Plane." seems to imply the opposite.
If the Filcher resides on the Material plane normally, I would have expected the first phrase to read "can shift from the Material to the Ethereal Plane . . .". But if it resides on the Ethereal plane normally, it doesn't make sense that it can only stay there for round before being forced back to the Material plane.
Is there an official (or at least commonly accepted) ruling on this anywhere?