Evard's Black Tentacles get only one try?

Things only get really out of hands when you have a Warlock with the invocation that creates Black Tentacles which also cause 2d6 cold damage to everyone in the area. And they can do it as many times as they like, all day long. My group houseruled that only one patch of tentacles could be "up" at once, and if the warlock creates a new one the old one disappears, but that's not what the rules say.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

irdeggman said:
From the FAQ:
While I am normally a proponent of the FAQ, that seems like an overly literal reading. The writer's intent, the description and logic suggest that the tentacles would continue to attack creatures in the area.
 

mvincent said:
While I am normally a proponent of the FAQ, that seems like an overly literal reading. The writer's intent, the description and logic suggest that the tentacles would continue to attack creatures in the area.

The spell doesn't say anything of the sort, though.

I just find it annoying that a creature has no motivation to move outside of the area of a black tentacles spell. If it's able to move then it obviously either made the initial grapple check or eventually escaped. Either way, it's safe inside the mass of tentacles.
 

Wolfwood2 said:
The spell doesn't say anything of the sort, though.
The rules neglect to say many things (example: they don't actually say that your opponent loses dex if you attack from a hidden position, and they forget to give monks proficiency with unarmed strikes).

However, in this case the spell description does indeed say something 'of the sort':
"The tentacles continue to crush the opponent until the spell ends or the opponent escapes.

Any creature that enters the area of the spell is immediately attacked by the tentacles. Even creatures who aren’t grappling with the tentacles may move through the area at only half normal speed. "
 





Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top