Can the Mount get healing from the Lay on Hands ability if the Paladin must (will) use it on himself?
Yes... but unfortunately, they came up with a weird ruling in Tome and Blood.
If you Share a Shield or a Divine Favor, you both get the full benefit.
If you Share, say, a Cure Light Wounds or a Bull's Strength, then you get a 'pool' of points which you have to split between yourself and the familiar.
If you roll a 4 on your Bull's Strength, you don't both get +4 - you could give yourself +1 and your familiar +3, for example.
Which is a horrible, horrible interpretation
Especially since their reasoning is that "the master and familiar both have separate ability scores". Yet, they both have separate ACs - why do you not have to split up the AC bonus from Mage Armor?
They give an example of Aid - you can Share the +1 morale bonus, but only one of the two gets the 1d8 temporary hit points.
The ruling on Cure spells - it gets worse - is that you
must assign all the points to either the master or the familiar... and if there are any points left over once they're fully healed, the overflow can be assigned to the other.
I mean... what!?
Stupid ruling. If I'm the DM, that whole page is going to get ignored.
Edit - I just read it again. I misread the ability score bit - you can't Share a Bull's Strength
at all. You have to pick one to get the Enhancement bonus. "Because the master and familiar have separate ability scores".
Unlike, say, their separate movement rates affected by Expeditious Retreat, their separate Armor Classes affected by Mage Armor, or their separate attack bonuses affected by True Strike.
Gah. /Edit
-Hyp.