Feeblemind

My beguiler got Feebleminded last session (needed 6+ to make the save, rolled a 5 ....)

We asked the DM what would happen if the other party member removed my character's Headband of Intellect +6 and then put it back on him again.

The DM agreed, (probably for practical reasons - not much fun in a two person party to have one player doing absolutely nothing for a big chunk of the session) that it would allow my characters Intelligence to go back up to 7.

Does anyone know whether this is allowable under the RAW?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

This is mentioned in the Main D&D 3.5 FAQ at wizard's site. The question in the FAQ is:

D&D 3.5 FAQ said:
Q:
Does the feeblemind spell affect only a character’s base Intelligence score, or does the spell make the subject’s Intelligence score 1 regardless of magical bonuses? If the spell affects only base Intelligence, will any magic that boosts Intelligence (such as a potion of fox’s cunning) break the spell? Do you have to get your Intelligence to 3 or higher to break the spell?


A:
A feeblemind spells reduces the subject’s Intelligence and Charisma scores to 1 (not just Intelligence). Of course, if the subject already has a score of 0, feeblemind doesn’t increase the score. The subject’s Intelligence and Charisma become 1 (or stay at 0) regardless of any enhancements or other increases to
those scores.

A feeblemind effect remains until the subject receives a heal, limited wish, miracle, or wish spell. The subject cannot benefit from any effect that increases Intelligence or Charisma until the feeblemind effect is removed.

So RAW indicate that the headband of intellect would have no effect.

However, given the situation I think the DM's ruling was just fine.
 


Well, they have a Int of one, so I think that does qualify as beyond stupid. :D

Feeblemind is a nasty spell and they didn't want an easy fix. I can understand that.
 

I always understood it as reducing your base score, so items that added on to it would increase it as normal.
 





FAQ isn't RAW, and it has contradicted itself on multiple occasions.

There are multi-page debates on these very boards about how the FAQ figures in and/or how it should figure in RAW.

In either case it is a clarification from Wizards on various rules and such. As I've said all along in this thread, if you do not agree with that clarification feel free to house rule it as you see fit to clarify the RAW as you see fit.
 

Remove ads

Top