Flanking with a ranged weapon?

RigaMortus2 said:
So if my ally is 50 feet away from the opponent in one direction, and I am 30 feet away from the opponent in the opposite direction, the opponent would be considered flanked. Neither one of us get a +2 flanking bonus since neither one is using a melee weapon. My ally can not Sneak Attack since he is more than 30 feet away, but I can since I am within 30 feet.

Then your position has the merit of consistency.

Now you just need to convince a DM :)

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The glossary definition of flank:
"To be directly on the other side of a character who is being threatened by another character. A flanking character gains a +2 flanking bonus on attack rolls against the defender. A rogue can sneak attack a defender that she is flanking"

Now obviously this isn't the full definition as it doesn't note the melee requirements etc, however its useful as clarification on certain points.

a. You can sneak attack if you personally flank.
b. You personally flank if you are directly opposite someone who is threatening the same creature.

This would seem to support the OP, but then we run into some other issues:

c. If you are flanking you get a +2 flanking bonus.

The full definition of flanking mentions this bonus is melee only, thus you can't get it with a bow. Logically then, if you are flanking you get a +2 flanking bonus. If you don't get a +2 flanking bonus, then you must not have been flanking.

So I'd have to go with no.
 

RigaMortus2 said:
Same goes for critical hits. What if you make an attack roll, it is a possible crit, you roll to confirm the crit (and you do), and then when you randomly roll you end up hitting your ally in the grapple, not the target you intended?

Mechanically, as long as you satisphy everything like hitting the AC, it does not make a difference I guess.

My preference (unfortunately borne because of someone that seemed to always miss the companion but hit or crit the enemy) is:
1) Roll attack to determine the AC hit (and damage at the same time)
2) Roll the random chance to see who is actually being struck
3) Roll for the crit confirmation, openly and without snatching the dice to look at it. :mad:
 

Diirk said:
c. If you are flanking you get a +2 flanking bonus.

The full definition of flanking mentions this bonus is melee only, thus you can't get it with a bow. Logically then, if you are flanking you get a +2 flanking bonus. If you don't get a +2 flanking bonus, then you must not have been flanking.

.. or, the glossary has created an error in its attempt to simplify the wording.

.. or, the glossary is correct, and the melee restriction in the other rules is in error.

.. or, you're right and it is impossible to flank a Formian.
 
Last edited:

RigaMortus2 said:
If my ally (a Rogue) is fighting an enemy (a goblin), and I (also a Rogue) am on the other side of that enemy but about 30 feet away, is that enemy considered flanked (and thus Sneak Attackable) if I shoot him with a bow?

Quote:
When making a melee attack, you get a +2 flanking bonus if your opponent is threatened by a character or creature friendly to you on the opponent’s opposite border or opposite corner.

You're not threatening the opponent.

Threatened Squares
You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack...
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
.. or, the glossary has created an error in its attempt to simplify the wording.

.. or, the glossary is correct, and the melee restriction in the other rules is in error.

Right, and its possibly fighters are meant to be allowed to cast 9th level wizard spells but the class text in the PHB is in error and left it off ;) I'm just going by what's written there.

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
.. or, you're right and it is impossible to flank a Formian.
I'm not sure why its impossible... "No formian in a group is considered flanked unless all of them are."

so:

Code:
  a   
  F  cFd
  b

Where a, b, c, d are human fighters and F are both formian workers... both formian's are flanked, so they are flanked. However if d 5 foot steps north, then not both formian's are flanked anymore, so neither are considered flanked. Have I made a mistake somewhere ?
 


Diirk said:
I'm not sure why its impossible... "No formian in a group is considered flanked unless all of them are."

so:

Code:
  a   
  F  cFd
  b

Where a, b, c, d are human fighters and F are both formian workers... both formian's are flanked, so they are flanked. However if d 5 foot steps north, then not both formian's are flanked anymore, so neither are considered flanked. Have I made a mistake somewhere ?

It's A's turn, and he makes a melee attack against the Formian on the left. Is he getting a +2 bonus on his attack roll?

While A is attacking, does C have a bonus on his attack roll?

Therefore, is C flanking the Formian on the right?
 


MarkB said:
Why wouldn't he?

The +2 bonus applies "when making a melee attack".

C is not making a melee attack; it is not his turn.

Either C is required to be making a melee attack in order to be flanking, or he is not required to be making a melee attack in order to be flanking.

If he is required to be making a melee attack in order to be flanking, then since he is not currently making a melee attack (since it is not his turn), he is not currently flanking; the formian he is adjacent to is therefore not flanked, and thus no formians in the group are considered flanked.

If he is not required to be making a melee attack in order to be flanking, then what prevents him making a sneak attack with his bow? He might not gain the +2 flanking bonus (since that does require him to be making a melee attack), but sneak attack applies when he flanks an opponent, and this paragraph assumes he need not be making a melee attack in order to be flanking...

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top