Flanking with Conjurations


log in or register to remove this ad

I would definitely rule no, and I'm pretty sure that it doesn't work with the RAW. If you could, you could flank with a mage hand too, and I think you'll agree, that's pretty silly.
 

I'd say you have to look at why flanking is beneficial if you want to go down this path: flanking works simply because a combatant's feels threatened from both sides, and his attention is divided between foes on either side, so he can't raise a defense as well against both.

Now, we all know that, but taking that into account in the context used here, I'd say that only conjurations that are actively threatening the target could possibly be used for flanking purposes.

If the conjuration is like one the cleric conjurations that doesn't attack normally (even if they do attack conditionally), or Mage Hand as Liebot mentions, then I'd say no. If you're not worried about getting hit from behind by one most of the time, you're not penalized for being "flanked" by it.

If the conjuration in question provides an active, ongoing threat of attack or damage and pain... I could see someone making an argument for it being distracting enough to give a flanking bonus. I'm not saying I'd allow it personally, but I could see someone making an argument to do so.
 

I'd basically rule as such:

Conjured objects? No.

Conjured creatures? Yes.

Even if a creature is just a conjuration, it is still a creature, and thus operates like any other creature (modified by the rules of the power that summoned it of course).
 

Conjurations can flank if they meet the criteria.

However, Flaming Sphere fails to meet one of the important ones - the ability to take an Opportunity Attack.

Most wizard conjurations cannot take OAs.

Quite a bit of Cleric ones do though.
 

Liebot said:
If you could, you could flank with a mage hand too, and I think you'll agree, that's pretty silly.

I'll agree that flanking with Mage Hand is silly.

Flaming Sphere is a lot less silly. It can attack and do damage.

I asked because it seemed like too much, but I didn't see where the RAW prevented.

I'm just trying to understand the rules.

cdrcjsn said:
... fails to meet one of the important ones - the ability to take an Opportunity Attack..

OAs are a criteria for flanking?
 

Yaezakura said:
I'd basically rule as such:

Conjured objects? No.

Conjured creatures? Yes.

Even if a creature is just a conjuration, it is still a creature, and thus operates like any other creature (modified by the rules of the power that summoned it of course).

I'm not aware of any conjured creatures in the game. There are effects that can attack but have no hit points and can't be attacked back, but they are certainly not creatures. Perhaps in another book someday.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top