Fly question.

pallandrome

First Post
So, here is a novel interpretation of the Fly spell I recently encountered. My character, trying to be circumspect, cast fly on himself, and then walked to the encounter, ready to take off if need be. The GM said that the Fly spell is cancelled when you touch down, so such a tactic would be invalid. I didn't argue the ruling, he is the GM after all, but I am wondering if he was referencing a rule that I had overlooked, or if this was a houserule. Does anyone know how this might be valid, RAW?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

There does not seem to be anything to support that via RAW for that interpretation of the Fly spell; it is not also dispellable at will either. It seems he may have house ruled the way it works. Perhaps you using this tactic was going to ruin what he had planned?
 

FreeXenon said:
There does not seem to be anything to support that via RAW for that interpretation of the Fly spell; it is not also dispellable at will either. It seems he may have house ruled the way it works. Perhaps you using this tactic was going to ruin what he had planned?

That's what I figured, but I wanted a second opinion. It's ok though. I'm a Gamer. I can ruin the GMs plans in any number of ways. :]
 


Oh I DID challenge that DM. I was planning to precast fly on myself, just in case the negotiations we were going to went... poorly. Instead I just cast Sepia Snake Sigil on the contract we brought for the other party to peruse.
 

pallandrome said:
So, here is a novel interpretation of the Fly spell I recently encountered. My character, trying to be circumspect, cast fly on himself, and then walked to the encounter, ready to take off if need be. The GM said that the Fly spell is cancelled when you touch down, so such a tactic would be invalid. I didn't argue the ruling, he is the GM after all, but I am wondering if he was referencing a rule that I had overlooked, or if this was a houserule. Does anyone know how this might be valid, RAW?
That's ridiculous. There's nothing in fly's language which suggests that to be the case. And usually house rules are described beforehand, not made up on the fly (no pun intended).

If nothing else, you could argue that since you never took off, you could not rightly be considered to have touched down.
 

My response probably would've been, "Okay, I hover two milimeters from the floor, make walking motions, and move myself forward so it looks like I'm walking."
 




Remove ads

Top