Footwork Lure & Unstoppable Advance interaction?

MacMathan

Adventurer
Supporter
If a character uses the fighter at-will Footwork Lure while in the Unstoppable Advance stance (Fighter Daily 1) does the player get to decide the order in which the movement effects kick in?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The trigger for the stance is when you hit with a melee attack power. Footwork lure has it's forced movement as part of the hit line.

On first read I'd say you finish the hit effect, which then triggers the stance.

That said, I don't think it's too much to let the player choose.
 

I'm not sure when you use the stance b/c you know that you hit the moment you resolve the attack roll but is the clause "...whenever you hit..." fullfilled right there or only after completing the hit entry?
 

It's not clear, so I think the steps after that are:

1. does one interpretation break the game. If yes, use the other one, if no go to 2.
2. Let the person using the power pick. (the principle that unclear things are resolved to benefit the PC)

EDIT: actually, the below is right. Powers that say WHEN YOU ARE HIT, mean "between being hit and being effected", so ones with "when you hit" should mean "between hitting and having an effect"
 
Last edited:

I'm not sure when you use the stance b/c you know that you hit the moment you resolve the attack roll but is the clause "...whenever you hit..." fullfilled right there or only after completing the hit entry?

"When you hit" is before you apply damage (according to CS on Blightbeast stuff for our Druid) so I assume before the Hit Line (as damage is the first effect of the Hit Line).

Thus you trigger the Stance, then Footwork Lure's Hit line takes effect.
 

"When you hit" is before you apply damage (according to CS on Blightbeast stuff for our Druid) so I assume before the Hit Line (as damage is the first effect of the Hit Line).

Thus you trigger the Stance, then Footwork Lure's Hit line takes effect.

An example against your reasoning is the following:
Fighter + Marked Scourge
The fighter attacks an unmarked target, according to combat challenge he can mark it on a hit or miss but there is the agreement (ruling) that marked scourge works not on the marking attack only on following attacks. Therefore, the hit is complete as soon as the hit entry has been resolved. If you use this logic on the above case it would lead to the following result:
Footwork Lure's hit entry followed by the stance's effect.
 

It's not clear, so I think the steps after that are:

1. does one interpretation break the game. If yes, use the other one, if no go to 2.
2. Let the person using the power pick. (the principle that unclear things are resolved to benefit the PC)


I like this kind of logic. I'd go with this.
 

An example against your reasoning is the following:
Fighter + Marked Scourge
The fighter attacks an unmarked target, according to combat challenge he can mark it on a hit or miss but there is the agreement (ruling) that marked scourge works not on the marking attack only on following attacks. Therefore, the hit is complete as soon as the hit entry has been resolved. If you use this logic on the above case it would lead to the following result:
Footwork Lure's hit entry followed by the stance's effect.

Makes sense to me that way round too - I was just passing on the CS response, as it is the closet thing we have to "official" in this instance. TBH I would prefer the CS response had been the other way round.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top