Full attack action

Brorath

First Post
Hello, I'm currently playing a dervish... My dm has informed me that when making a full attack, if I'm hit ( from a aoO, my attacking and moving will stop. I can't seem to find this rule written anywhere and he plays close to raw. If it is indeed a real rule could someone direct me to its location. Please and thankyou

Edit: this is for 3.5
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


If the creature has the Stand Still feat, then you have to roll a save or be stopped in your tracks. And even if the creature has that feat, you forfeit the damage done on the AoO to use it. So if you took damage, your DM's full of bs. If you weren't given a save, your DM's full of bs. If he thinks this is a general rule for any full attack, your DM is full of bs.

I'm gonna go out on a limb and say despite the whole "DM is never wrong" meme...your DM is wrong.
 

The closest thing I know of is under Concentration

And I'll say this is completely reasonable even if not within the rules. The Dervish'e breaking of the no movement requirement of full attacking was a ridiculous ability, which sadly the devs have repeated elsewhere. What I feel is unreasoanble is the DM not informing you about this before you took the class.

Though this does sound like DM was caught by surprise by the ability. Perhaps asking your DM to rebuild the character in a different direction may be for the best.
 

The Dervish'e breaking of the no movement requirement of full attacking was a ridiculous ability,
Wizard unleashing the full fury of one of his reality shattering spells in one standard action: OK

Fighter moving up to someone and hitting him in the face multiple times: Ridiculous
 

Maybe this is what he was thinking of

Making an Attack of Opportunity: An attack of opportunity is a single melee attack, and you can only make one per round. You don’t have to make an attack of opportunity if you don’t want to.

An experienced character gets additional regular melee attacks (by using the full attack action), but at a lower attack bonus. You make your attack of opportunity, however, at your normal attack bonus—even if you’ve already attacked in the round.

An attack of opportunity “interrupts” the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character’s turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character’s turn).


Now if your PC takes sufficient damage to fall under the massive damage rules or gets dropped to negative hit points, then you can't continue your action.
 

Short of actually be dropped by the aoo, you can finish you attack normally.

If your DM insists on this rule, ask to play a Natural Spell druid.
 

Remove ads

Top