Gate and antimagic field

Laharl

First Post
Hi everyone,

I'm planning a conjurer for my next compaign.
About the anitmagic field spell and the gate one, does the last is affected by the first?
I mean, the spell gate is magic ok, but once the creature is called, is it affected by the antimagicfield? Since the creature is real, it was pulled out by a spell like a teleportation one.

So?

Laharl.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

A Summoned creature 'winks out' in an Antimagic Field. A Called creature does not.

Gate is a Conjuration (Calling) spell, not a Conjuration (Summoning) spell, so the Gated creature is not affected by the antimagic field.

-Hyp.
 

Thx for the anwser.

Does this spell is broken?
It said you can conjure a single creature with a hd equal to twice your caster level (red wizard/archmage...).
Or maybe i miss the point about single creature, single creature might be dragon or any none named monster manual creature?

Laharl.
 

Laharl said:
Thx for the anwser.

Does this spell is broken?
It said you can conjure a single creature with a hd equal to twice your caster level (red wizard/archmage...).
Or maybe i miss the point about single creature, single creature might be dragon or any none named monster manual creature?

Laharl.

I wouldn't say so... Consider:

You can call a single creature of ANY HD amount, but you can only control a single creature up to your 2xCL, anything more than that is at your own risk.

Alternativly you can call and control multiple creatures up to your CL

Lets compare.

Summon Monster IX (same level)

Elder Elemental - 24HD
Bebilith - 12 HD
Hezrou - 10 HD
Fiendish Monstrous Scorpion (Gargantuan) - 20 HD

So, Summon monsters don't let you control as much, no, But Summon Monster does not have an XP Component, Gate does when using the calling feature.

Look also at Animate dead...
you can animate up to 2x CL with a single casting, and you can control up to 4xCL

Balance wise, no I don't think Gate is broken.
 

Sorry also forgot to mention; From what i understand about Gate, you can summon a specific named creature if you know one:

"...By naming a particular being, or kind of being..."

You could name Sarah the Succubus, and she would be pulled through.

Deities or Unique beings however aren't pulled through forcibly, though they can choose to come though.
 

Laharl said:
Thx for the anwser.

Does this spell is broken?
It said you can conjure a single creature with a hd equal to twice your caster level (red wizard/archmage...).
Or maybe i miss the point about single creature, single creature might be dragon or any none named monster manual creature?

Laharl.

On one hand, it's not necessarily broken, but without some DM rulings and limitations it can get out of hand. On the other hand, If someone is going to be using it to pull in Solar's on a regular basis, it will be problematic. On the gripping hand, Solars are THE primary servants of Major Gods and those Gods aren't going to be happy if someone keeps stealing their Solars and especially if they keep getting them killed. Since those are permanent deaths.

But don't forget it IS a 9th lv spell after all and one with a significant XP cost, it is supposed to be quite powerful.
 

Thank for your answers.

The experience costs is quite high, but from a role palying point of vue, this spell is so great!
When all seem lost, you conjure a powerful creature which can change the fate of a fight, at a cost, yes but you still around there to complain about it ;)
 

Remove ads

Top