SPOILER ALERT: DO NOT READ THIS THREAD IF YOU ARE A PLAYER IN AN AGE OF WORMS CAMPAIGN!
I'm DMing the Age of Worms. Right now my players are running throught the Champion's Belt module. Because they missed out on some XP, they are currently behind where the module says they should be in level. So, to help prevent a TPK, I sent Celeste (a ghaele eladrin) along with them to provide back-up for the end of the module (where the party must face several high level challenges at once).
Anyway, here's what I'm wondering. The Monster Manual description for a ghaele eladrin says that they wield "incandescent" +4 greatswords. So if Celeste should happen to die in this fight, can the party pick up her +4 greatsword and keep it as swag? Alternatively, if a bad guy is successful in disarming the eladrin, can the bad guy pick it up and wield it? Based on the picture of the weapon, I'd say no. The picture makes it look like the weapon is a manifestation of pure energy created by the eladrin and unusable by others. But I couldn't find anything in the rules that specified this.
I'm concerned about this, because I think the party's most powerful weapon at the moment is +2. So, if Celeste dies, picking up her weapon would be a significant permanent power up for the party, and it would be achieved, not by defeating an adversary, but by allowing an ally to die (i.e. through failure). In addition, it just doesn't seem right that an evil cleric might be able to disarm the ghaele, pick up her weapon, and use it against her.
Clearly, being the DM, I have the power to house rule that the ghaele's greatsword is a manifestation of her pure soul, and that it goes pop when she dies (or when she is disarmed). But I'm just curious about the actual rules (if there are any) for this weapon. Is it swag that anyone can grab (even an evil character), or is it a manifestation of the eladrin herself?
Thanks.
I'm DMing the Age of Worms. Right now my players are running throught the Champion's Belt module. Because they missed out on some XP, they are currently behind where the module says they should be in level. So, to help prevent a TPK, I sent Celeste (a ghaele eladrin) along with them to provide back-up for the end of the module (where the party must face several high level challenges at once).
Anyway, here's what I'm wondering. The Monster Manual description for a ghaele eladrin says that they wield "incandescent" +4 greatswords. So if Celeste should happen to die in this fight, can the party pick up her +4 greatsword and keep it as swag? Alternatively, if a bad guy is successful in disarming the eladrin, can the bad guy pick it up and wield it? Based on the picture of the weapon, I'd say no. The picture makes it look like the weapon is a manifestation of pure energy created by the eladrin and unusable by others. But I couldn't find anything in the rules that specified this.
I'm concerned about this, because I think the party's most powerful weapon at the moment is +2. So, if Celeste dies, picking up her weapon would be a significant permanent power up for the party, and it would be achieved, not by defeating an adversary, but by allowing an ally to die (i.e. through failure). In addition, it just doesn't seem right that an evil cleric might be able to disarm the ghaele, pick up her weapon, and use it against her.
Clearly, being the DM, I have the power to house rule that the ghaele's greatsword is a manifestation of her pure soul, and that it goes pop when she dies (or when she is disarmed). But I'm just curious about the actual rules (if there are any) for this weapon. Is it swag that anyone can grab (even an evil character), or is it a manifestation of the eladrin herself?
Thanks.