*gleep* Sage Advice and Ray of Enfeeblement

Thanee

First Post
Question: When a character receives a penalty of a type for which he also has a bonus, do both affect the ability jointly or does the larger number take hold, as the same type of modifier can't affect an ability twice?
Answer: First, in 3.5 penalties no longer have names -- they're just penalties, and they all stack. In 3.0 penalties had names, but they stacked with bonuses of the same name (in spite of what you might have read in earlier printings of the Player’s Handbook).

Am I reading this right? Penalties all stack!?
Are they crazy? :D ;)

So two empowered Ray of Enfeeblement or a single twinned empowered one, will drop almost everything without a save!?

Bye
Thanee
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Thanee said:
Question: When a character receives a penalty of a type for which he also has a bonus, do both affect the ability jointly or does the larger number take hold, as the same type of modifier can't affect an ability twice?
Answer: First, in 3.5 penalties no longer have names -- they're just penalties, and they all stack. In 3.0 penalties had names, but they stacked with bonuses of the same name (in spite of what you might have read in earlier printings of the Player’s Handbook).

Am I reading this right? Penalties all stack!?
Are they crazy? :D ;)

So two empowered Ray of Enfeeblement or a single twinned empowered one, will drop almost everything without a save!?

Bye
Thanee
Yes, penalties stack in 3.5, but two Ray of Enfeeblements would fall under the "Stacking Magical Effects" Rule in the spell section of the PHB: Two identical spells don't stack, they overlap.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top